Homemade Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is a good, basic recipe. Some tips to help you: 1. You can split new vanilla beans, but I just throw in used beans from other recipes. RINSE THEM FIRST and the end product will be the same. 2. Two vanilla beans is fine, but your desired flavor will develop over time. I just keep the beans in the liquid, using it as I go. 3. Mix up your liquor selection! I LOVE making vanilla extract out of bourbon for a richer flavor--it's great for fall recipes (pumpkin pie, apple crisp, etc). 4. This is a never-ending process. When your batch is at strength you like, decant most of the liquid into a separate bottle. Top off the original bottle with more liquor, and start the process over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Based on some other reviewers' comments, I split 4 vanilla beans, cut them in 1/2" pieces, and using a well-cleaned out wine bottle for its dark colored glass, placed them in only a half-pint of vodka, and corked it for about 30 days. I shook the bottle up everyday to thoroughly distribute the vanilla seeds, then after 30 days strained it all through a coffee filter, and bottled them! It smells great and is a nice dark brown color. I also did the same thing with a half-pint of rum for a vanilla-rum extract. Wish I would have made more now. With these changes, this is a 5-star recipe and great little Christmas gifts! Thanks, Ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I made this for myself and for friends as a Christmas gifts. It is the best. I used quite a few more beans (5 to 7) in 500 ml of vodka (the size of my bottles). Just keep refreshing the vodka as you use it. The cheapest place to find vanilla beans was on eBay. I got about 35 of them for under $10.00
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Making your own vanilla is a great idea! A few tips; my mom has been making vanilla for over 20 years..it always turns out great. Her advice is to split the beans before putting them in the liquor to release the most flavor. A lot of people use vodka, mom has always used Brandy(J&B,not expensive)..the brandy gives a wonderful color and flavor. The vanilla really should be left alone for about 3 months(just give it a gentle shake every few weeks). This vanilla has always turned out very well,and is terrific to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I am so very greatful that you've solved the vanilla mystery, Ginger. (With that name, you were obviously born to be a foodie!!!) I will never buy vanilla again, and think of the joy in giving someone a gorgeously adorned BIG bottle of home-made, low-carb, organic-as-it-gets Vanilla!!!! I will have and share immense pleasure from this gift of your recipe. Merry Christmas to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCDEBBIET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I don't think two vanilla beans is enough. I have made this too, however I use six vanilla beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I was inspired to make this based on LadyJayPee's beautiful pictures. I agree that the amt. of vanilla bean be increased. I only had dark rum, and used 6 beans; 3 each of Tahitian and Mexican varieties. It smells and tastes wonderful, and is good quality vanilla for a fraction of the cost. Use only the freshest vanilla beans that are very pliable. Thanks for this cost-saving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I love to make things from scratch but I think I like the store bought better. Mine still tastes too much like alcohol and not enough like a good full strength vanilla extract (I have one from Mexico). It has been sitting for about 8 months with about 12 split vanilla beans. I still taste the alcohol. Next time I won't buy "gold rum". Update - this works well in baked goods. Still tastes like strong alcohol in my ice cream mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Should you split the vanilla beans before putting them in the vodka?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe rocks!! I used 4 large vanilla beans beacuse 2 beans didn't seem like much in that big bottle. It smells and tastes like the "pure" expensive stuff in the store, but it doesn't have any coloring in it so it's a lot lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States