Homemade Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Doubled the number of vanilla beans and halved the amount of alcohol. Used Tahitian vanilla beans in rum. Much better than store-bought, more economical, and can keep a rotation going so I never run out. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This has to be one of the greatest ideas ever! I've had my vanilla hanging out since the end of March, however, we've got six split beans in our bottle and I wouldn't suggest going with any less than that. Actually, I'd like to add a few more, but as is, the aroma is absolutely divine. Just think about how popular you'll be giving small bottles out as gifts! My qualitycook.com friends and I are contemplating vanilla vodka martinis! Thanks so much Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This same recipe I came across in Martha Stewart's magazine a while back and have been using it for years. While I do agree that this is not as strong as the stuff you get at the supermarket, to me it's a great substitution when you consider the cost and the fact that there's generally only a teaspoon in your average recipe anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I made the recipe as is and after 7 months in my pantry with ocasional shaking, it has a wonderful aroma and taste. No more imitation vanilla for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modale, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
As others added, you definitely need to increase the amount of beans per bottle. Between 6 and 10 is good. You get the best results if you expose as much of the interior of the bean as possible. Give the beans a couple of whirls in a small food processor after you split them open for optimum results and allow the mixture to sit for at least 4 months, shaking about once a week, for best results. You will never get vanilla as good as you get from the store out of it (you would have to shake the bottle every waking moment to do so), but it makes a great addition to stir fry or as a topping for desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I was inspired to make this based on LadyJayPee's beautiful pictures. I agree that the amt. of vanilla bean be increased. I only had dark rum, and used 6 beans; 3 each of Tahitian and Mexican varieties. It smells and tastes wonderful, and is good quality vanilla for a fraction of the cost. Use only the freshest vanilla beans that are very pliable. Thanks for this cost-saving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Based on some other reviewers' comments, I split 4 vanilla beans, cut them in 1/2" pieces, and using a well-cleaned out wine bottle for its dark colored glass, placed them in only a half-pint of vodka, and corked it for about 30 days. I shook the bottle up everyday to thoroughly distribute the vanilla seeds, then after 30 days strained it all through a coffee filter, and bottled them! It smells great and is a nice dark brown color. I also did the same thing with a half-pint of rum for a vanilla-rum extract. Wish I would have made more now. With these changes, this is a 5-star recipe and great little Christmas gifts! Thanks, Ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
It smells awesome. We are going to bake with it this week because it has set for long enough. We put in 6 beans split down the middle, we found them for very cheap at World Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I've tried a method very similar to this, but I used three vanilla beans. Even then, the final product (even after a year-and-a-half) is still nowhere near as strong in flavor as commercial vanilla extract. However, even though I wouldn't use this in cooking, I do find that it makes a good vanilla liqueur, of sorts. I like to add it to hot chocolate to give it a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Should you split the vanilla beans before putting them in the vodka?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States