Homemade Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this and I gave little jars out to my baking family members for christmas. I love it! No more buying expensive vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
The longer the beans steep, the better the vanilla will be. Two beans doesn't get much done, even in several weeks. I now use 5 beans (6" bourbon beans) for 2 cups of vodka, and let it steep for a full year (shaking it once a week), which seems kind of extreme, but is well worth the wait, since it gives a lot more body and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Making your own vanilla is a great idea! A few tips; my mom has been making vanilla for over 20 years..it always turns out great. Her advice is to split the beans before putting them in the liquor to release the most flavor. A lot of people use vodka, mom has always used Brandy(J&B,not expensive)..the brandy gives a wonderful color and flavor. The vanilla really should be left alone for about 3 months(just give it a gentle shake every few weeks). This vanilla has always turned out very well,and is terrific to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I have made vanilla using a similar recipe and was happy to see the advice about washing/splitting the beans, etc. Now my question is, how many times can I refill the liquor? Just until it doesn't get any flavor after a month or so? Does anyone have experience as to how many refills this might be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Really easy to make I am giving to family and friends as gifts for xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I love this recipe. I will never buy vanilla from the store again. I only had two vanilla beans when I first started and it had an ok flavor. It took quite a while to get a fuller vanilla flavor. Next time I will defineatly use more beans and play with the varieties to develop my own flavor. For now the only problem I have is finding little jars to use to give some vanilla to people who would appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is so easy and good, once you make this you'll never buy the other stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is a good, basic recipe. Some tips to help you: 1. You can split new vanilla beans, but I just throw in used beans from other recipes. RINSE THEM FIRST and the end product will be the same. 2. Two vanilla beans is fine, but your desired flavor will develop over time. I just keep the beans in the liquid, using it as I go. 3. Mix up your liquor selection! I LOVE making vanilla extract out of bourbon for a richer flavor--it's great for fall recipes (pumpkin pie, apple crisp, etc). 4. This is a never-ending process. When your batch is at strength you like, decant most of the liquid into a separate bottle. Top off the original bottle with more liquor, and start the process over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I love to make things from scratch but I think I like the store bought better. Mine still tastes too much like alcohol and not enough like a good full strength vanilla extract (I have one from Mexico). It has been sitting for about 8 months with about 12 split vanilla beans. I still taste the alcohol. Next time I won't buy "gold rum". Update - this works well in baked goods. Still tastes like strong alcohol in my ice cream mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I made this for myself and for friends as a Christmas gifts. It is the best. I used quite a few more beans (5 to 7) in 500 ml of vodka (the size of my bottles). Just keep refreshing the vodka as you use it. The cheapest place to find vanilla beans was on eBay. I got about 35 of them for under $10.00
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States