Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
We really loved this recipe with a few tweaks. To avoid lumps, I mixed dry ingredients with cold milk before putting over heat. I took another user's advice and use 1/3 cup of sugar, but it was still too sweet so next time I will only use 1/4 cup. We got impatient and ate it warm, but it was so delicious we might eat it warm every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Healthy Version: (See below for "lump" tips.) I substituted "Stevia in the Raw" for the sugar, light olive oil for the butter, and used 2% milk. I followed the directions exactly - no lumps. Tasted great, but a little sweet, even with the Stevia. I remedied this by adding a teaspoon of cocoa powder - perfect! A quick and tasty dessert with almost no fat or sugar, and no nasty aftertaste or chemicals. I can't wait to play around with other flavors, and I'm definitely going to try rice pudding! As for the lumps - I have 2 tips. Have the dry ingredients ready while heating the milk. Once the milk has scalded, remove from heat and gradually add the dry ingredients, whisking quickly. Return to heat and keep whisking until the pudding *almost* reaches a boil. Remove from heat, keep whisking for a few more minutes as the pudding cools a little. Immediately place a piece of plastic wrap on the surface of the pudding while cooling. This will prevent a skin from forming, and creating lumps when ready to serve. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I am not sure what happened when I made this, but it went hard, like really hard lol. The flavour was ok, not overly sweet or anything. But I went wrong somewhere even after following the recipe exactly. lol I rated it a 3 based on the flavour itself and not my mistakes. lol I will make again and see what happens next time, I like to try a recipe twice before I make my mind up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bzzybeemom3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
While I'm not a dessert person, my husband and kids are. I made this following the other reviewers suggestions of adding the milk after the dry ingredients and only one ingredient change (less sugar), and my daughter said this is "crazy yummy!" Really quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
My pudding never got thick, it actually got thinner even though I followed the recipe exactly. It was also WAY too sweet (for someone with a sweet tooth), so I wish I had read others suggestions beforehand. Next time I will use 2% milk, 1/2 the sugar and play around with the heating and hopefully it will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
this hit the spot. I made it with fat free milk. I added the dry mix while the milk was warm (no bubbles yet) and whisked the pudding while it cooked. no lumps, tasted nice warm even. I sliced some bananas to the pudding while it cooled. I lowered the sugar slightly, just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made this recipe today exactly according to the directions.I didn't get any lumps at all, but it was a tad too sweet...will cut down a litle on the sugar next time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Super easy, super tasty, what a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
It won't hurt to blend the cornstarch and milk before cooking, but if your cornstarch is relatively fresh it should not be a problem. The process of whisking the cornstarch and sugar together should break up any lumps before blending. I added half a cup of raisins as it cooked, and a pinch of cinnamon. Eaten warm is just right for that grandma made it taste. It is a tad sweet, I would probably reduce the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This recipe is pretty good, but to make it easier to have no lumps, you should use a little bit of milk to the corn starch first and mix it, When it's a liquid, drop it into the hot milk and it'll make mixing it a whole lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States