Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love the taste and texture of this pudding! I doubled the vanilla (I use the expensive kind) and it gave a more intense vanilla flavor. Next time I will reduce the amount of sugar which should bring out the vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is pretty good. For some reason my craving has been vanilla pudding. Yes I got lumps couple times but I ended up putting it in the blender lol. Also what helps not get lumps is putting all the ingredients in the cold milk and then put it in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Creamy, thick and pretty yummy as a basic pudding recipe. No strong flavor, though. But I will keep it as a good go-to recipe. Took the advice of others and did dry ingredients first while mixing in wet slowly before turning on the heat. Perfectly smooth. After we added a little cinnamon and nutmeg which made it delicious. Might be fun to try adding other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Tried the recipe with a couple variations, the first was increasing the sugar by a 1/4 cup and adding an 1/8 tsp of coconut powder into the dried ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Love it. I did the same way suggested by many other people that do the dried ingridients first and them milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Made this for dessert tonight. Great recipe! My husband and kids really enjoyed it. Didn't change a thing. I had all of the ingredients on hand so I thought, why not? This recipe took only minutes to make and was cheap! I had no problems with lumps, but agree that it was a tad too sweet. Next time, I might subtract a couple of tablespoons of the sugar...or maybe not. I will never buy store-bought pudding after having this. Will definitely make this again! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This recipe was OK however I am still searching for the perfect pudding recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This recipe was too bland and sweet for pudding, it was more like icing. Though, I'd be interested in some of the suggestions of using an egg and cutting down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I thought this recipe was great...a simple but delicious vanilla pudding. I did make a few minor modifications though: i used half and half instead of milk and i used a very high quality vanilla (when using vanilla they are NOT all alike. Do yourself a favor and buy the good stuff for the richest vanilla flavor). I also used 1/3 cup sugar instead of the directed 1/2 cup. I reserved 1/4 cup of the cold milk, or in my case half and half, and blended it with the cornstarch, sugar and salt to a well blended consistency while the rest of the milk was heating in the saucepan. Once it was warm i added my cornstarch milk mixture and continued to stir until thick. The pudding once cooked had a very nice creamy consistency amd did not have cornstarch lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I did as Kyo suggested, put in all the dry stuff and added in the cold wet stuff. Worked great!! I also used raw milk (which is legally sellable in my state) and this was a great use for it as it is cooked...and the supercreamy milk only added to the richness!! Instead of vanilla extract, I just split and plopped in what I had left of a Madagascar vanilla bean (I already had maybe a quarter of it cut off to make something else and wanted to use it very soon), and let it sit in there during the whole cooking process, taking out the bean pod when the pudding was thick enough. It only made this more wonderful and rich. The flavor really comes through because of using the cornstarch and not using eggs. I also just bought three Tahitian vanilla beans, which do NOT have the same smell and taste as the Madagascar beans...and I bet you'd really be able to tell the subtle difference in the beans using *especially* this recipe! Next time I might quadruple this. The original recipe doesn't make enough. I already doubled it and my mom ate almost half of it in one sitting. Thanks mom. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States