Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I agree it's basic but good... I also agree with adding all ingredients to the cold milk whisking then heating, I modified this recipe and added 2 egg yolks and some cinnamon.. I put all of the ingredients in the sauce pan minus the butter and whisked then blended the mixture in my nutribullet, I then added the blended mixture to the saucepan and turned on to medium heat and added the butter, I whisked vigorously until it thickened and then put the pudding in a glass bowl, sprinkled a little bit of cinnamon sugar on the top and chilled. I served it with whipped topping and homemade cinnamon sugar chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Guas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My husband asked for dirt cake for his birthday so I had to find a pudding recipe. I have a custard recipe but it is a bit too rich for dirt cake so I found this, the first recipe I came to. I skimmed the ingredients, simple enough. Checked out the reviews, and became a bit scared to try this. I decided I would try it like it says, make no changes and give it an honest shot. Guess what....it turned out perfect! I heated the milk, waited until it was warm and slowly added the dry ingredients. I stirred the mixture the entire time, about 6 minutes give or take a few, but constantly stirred. I changed direction in stirring every few turns but stirred that pudding. It is delicious, not too sweet, not too plain. No lumps. I say don't be intimidated by the recipe or reviews. Follow the directions and its great. Just make sure you stir! Cannot wait to have the dirt cake tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
My 5th grader made this for us. All the kids here and the adult (me) agree that it's between a 4 and 5 star recipe. The flavor is lovely (we did add a splash more vanilla as we do with most things). But this is definitely a cooked pudding recipe and so the texture was much different then they were use to. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Except for mixing the cornstarch mixture into cold milk, I made the recipe exactly. It was wonderful. The person who said that this pudding tasted like custard was right. Don't know how that can happen with no eggs! The texture is smooth and light maybe because I stirred it with a whisk while cooking. The second time I made it I added 2 Tbs of cocoa powder, but it would be great with any flavoring extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I loved this, and it was so easy! Creamy and comforting. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon to mine and it gave it a homey warmth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Tried this because I needed to use up a lot.of whole milk. Wow, it was like liquid sugar! You could easily reduce the sugar by 1/2 cup and still have plenty sweet taste. I also added a little extra vanilla. The whisk also worked well to avoid lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Very good and easy to make !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Lesson learned: read the reviews before you make the recipe! To remedy lumps in this or any cornstarch recipe (gravy) strain through a wire strainer while it is still hot. We had to add chocolate syrup just to make it palatable, way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Ya'll who complaining of lumps obviously don't have pegs for your aprons in the kitchen. No offense, but it really is something so logical for a seasoned cook or baker. Cornstarch lumps in any hot liquid. I altered the recipe, but stuck really close to it. I used the same measurements, but as a lactose intolerant, logically, I used Almond Breeze Original Milk instead of the milk. For starters, WHISK WHISK WHISK in your pot the milk and cornstarch first until you get a frothy appearance with lots of bubbles. Then add all but the vanilla and whisk all over until it is more bubbly frothy like the first time. Then turn the burner on Medium (4-5) and KEEP WHISKING. Add vanilla. KEEP WHISKING. I whisked until it set (thickened). Poured in a bowl, stuck it in the fridge and forgot about it til it was time to serve. I found a only one thing... the sugar was overpowering the vanilla flavor. How to solve it? Again, Aprons Up! Add 1/2 to 1 tsp vanilla. Problem solved. I loved the texture, consistency, flavor. I put this in the recipe box and it will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This was so simple! Forget the double boiler!!! This was much quicker, easier, and just as good! My new go to recipe for pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States