Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
The main reason some are getting lumps is you are adding the cornstarch mixture when the milk is too hot. Stir in mixture when it is warm not hot. This is also true when making pan gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roy Munson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelady2
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I tripled the recipe to make a banana pudding with wafers and instead of vanilla extract .i used banana ..Th i s pudding was a hit! I'LL always will use this as my base pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Toooooooo sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Usually when I make pudding I place all of the dry ingredients in the pan and then add a small amount of cold water to dissolve everything. Then I put the milk in a glass measuring cup and microwave on high for 2 minutes. Add the warmed up milk to the dissolved dry ingredients and heat and stir till thickened. This reduces the amount of time you have to spend standing and stirring at the stove till thickened. I liked this recipe but it was a little bit too sweet for me so next time I will reduce the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
MADE IT!!! I MADE IT A BIT LUMPY BUT IT WAS GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
The first time I made this pudding I thought it came out very good. I struggled a little with needing to whisk out lumps, but not many. It set up well and I love that it is much more healthy and wholesome than box mix puddings. I repeated the recipe tonight and noticed it said to cook only enough to coat the spoon, not to boil the milk. I had not noticed this instruction the first time I made it and probably overcooked it. That said, after putting the bowl of pudding in the fridge to chill I realized it had not set enough and would remain liquid. Put it back in the pot and cooked it, not to a boil but to the point where the pudding was thickened and I was having to fight lumps. This time I can see it will be fine again. Perhaps my training of what constitutes a liquid that will coat a spoon differs from the author of the recipe. The pudding is sweet, but not overly so. I added a good dash of nutmeg while I was cooking & stirring, gives it a little more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I tried this recipe out of curiosity and it was great! I took the other reviewers ideas and put in dry ingredients first. It was still a bit lumpy but the flavor is great! Thanks for the great pudding idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I really enjoyed it. But my kids didnt like it at all. That is why I gave it a 3. I will still make it for my self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is a great basic pudding recipe, and it can be used to make any other pudding you want! I have made it with almond milk and have not had a problem with getting the right consistency. -Add all the dry ingredients, stir in cold liquid, and then heat. Voila, no lumps. If you do get lumps, push it through sifter. -Add some ginger (1/4 tsp) and cinnamon (1/2tsp) powder for a spicy vanilla pudding. -Add some cocoa powder for chocolate. Seriously the possibilities are endless. This is a great recipe to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdean82
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The recipe as written does produce a fantastic pudding with lumps. The "reverse" method suggested by other reviewers will make this a 5-star recipe. It's sad to think that the only pudding I can compare this to is in a Jello box. It took 50 years but I've finally found something better. I'm noticing that this pudding recipe was added over 10 years ago. It's survived a decade of scrutiny. It's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dabeau1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States