Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Excellent flavor. Be sure to mix dry ingredients into COLD milk before heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
On a low sodium diet so eliminated the salt completely. Cooked the whole thing in the microwave and it was smooth and creamy. Takes about 2 minutes to heat up the milk before adding the dry ingredients. How long after that to get the consistency depends on micro strength. Mine took about 5-6 minutes with timeouts for stirring and to check for thickness. Then added the butter and vanilla. Turned out great and without any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
So much awesome. I solved the "lumpy" problem by making a bechamel first, then dumping in the sugar, then using an electric mixer in the pot while I sprinkled in the rest of the flour for roughly a decade. But it turned out amazing! Also? Skipping the vanilla and adding 1/4 cup of cocoa powder magically turns it into awesome chocolate pudding! Can't wait to try strawberry jam in it. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was my first attempt at making homemade pudding. This recipe was easy and good. I doubled the recipe for my family of 6. Next time I will cut the sugar in half as it is really sweet. ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
made this for dessert tonight. Loved the flavour. Kids licked their spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I'm only giving 4 stars instead of 5 due to the appearance. It looked like very white, thick milk. I thought the dark vanilla and the yellow of the butter would of tinted it at least. We didn't garnish it with anything and kids had it gone before it could fully cool. They loved the taste but not the look. Next time I may add a drop of food coloring for the kids VERY SIMPLE VERY GOOD. It's a keeper. The only change that I made was in how I combined the dry and wet ingredients to prevent lumps before heating. This took longer but was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I modified this one quite a bit observing the suggestions above and decided to try them all out in one recipe! A little different than Rosemary's Original but she still deserves credit! Thanks Rosemary!!! So, using the original as a base, I mixed in all ingredients while still unheated EXCEPT vanilla- I added that last after taking it off the stove at the end.. Mixing everything together at the beginning prevented lumps 100%, and cooked all the flavors together gorgeously. I added 2 egg whites and used 2 tblspn. of butter. To avoid the annoying 'film' when pudding cools, I filled the base of my sink with ice water and stirred until slightly chilled. The most mouthwatering vanilla pudding you've ever tasted! Also, I separated the pudding in half, put the other half on medium low heat, and stirred in 2+1/2 tsp. coco powder, whisked it in, and 1+1/2 tblspn. Magic Shell Chocolate Sauce. Sounds crazy but OMG! The Perfect Chocolate Pudding. Chilled it the same way. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Tastes great and easy to make! I just put all of the ingredients at one time and stir on a low/medium flame and I have no lumps. Beats a box mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I used this as a base for rice pudding, it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Peterson Ursenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I kept the measurements the same only added the dry ingredients into the pot and then whisked in the milk. This is delicious, my whole family loved it and I will make it again! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States