Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I didn't have any trouble with lumps, as I made sure to add the cold milk to the dry ingredients and bring all up to temperature together. I thought it was very easy and quite tasty. I used a whole vanilla bean instead of the extract so I had these lovely little specks. :-). This is a great recipe for a quick pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This recipe is very good. Pudding is sweet and well balanced. I made a few changes just to suit my family's taste because we love strong vanilla flavor. I used the seeds of one Madagascar vanilla bean, doubled the amount of vanilla extract, and used 2 Tbsp butter. Delicious! Also, as others have said, I add dry ingredients to pan first and add the cold milk to prevent clumping. Good recipe with or without the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osgood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made this while watching a season five episode of DS9. I couldn't wait for it to finish solidifying in mon fridge. It tastes heavenly and like my ex-wife, when it is warm and gooey still. Try it! Next time I am going to inject it into some chocolate cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great - I did as many suggested and reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, I increased the vanilla to 2 teaspoons and my grandchildren loved it. Almost the same as my Homemade Chocolate Pudding recipe (just missing to cocoa).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I printed this recipe back in 2004 and have used it so often as it is the BEST and SIMPLEST recipe I've ever found!!It is exactly what hits the spot when you are looking for the perfect vanilla pudding. Sorry it took me so long to post a review. Thank you so much Rosemary!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I began following the recipe using all the listed ingredients. I also mixed the cornstarch with the cold milk first as others suggested. Once the mixture thickened I decided the vanilla extract wasn't enough (probably would be better with a real vanilla bean), so I added a dash of almond extract. This gave it a little extra flavor. I was really craving some crème brulee, so after I cooled the mixture in dished , I sprinkled sugar on top and held them super close to the broiler until the sugar was bubbling. They came out super goooooood! Added some fresh mint from my garden and blueberries. Easy to make, with ingredients you usually already have. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe! My first time making pudding and it almost went off without a hitch. I would suggest though, adding all ingredients to cold milk to prevent bubbles. It works better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenPinky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My kids ask me to make this pudding all the time! It is pretty sweet so sometimes I cut back on the sugar a bit...also for variations I sometimes add a small amount of almond extract, or lemon extract...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
A very yummy pudding. As others have suggested, I mixed the dry ingredients in the pot, then added the milk and stirred until dissolved. Then turned on the heat and stirred constantly until thickened. You can also add 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder to the dry ingredients for a delicious chocolate pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
A very good pudding recipe. I would've given it 5 stars but the directions need to be amended to avoid lumps and in my opinion, it's too sweet once it cools down. Cut down on the sugar and this would be a perfect pudding! A good base for rice pudding as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States