Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
8 grade A, Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla beans found via Ebay, split down the middle submerged in 750 ml Jim Bean Bourbon. (Walmart $12)started 2/20/2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I tried it and love the result-can't wait until it's ready for my friends to use! I'm giving as Christmas gifts to my foodie friends, and I only started a week ago, so the tag includes directions to wait at least 2 more weeks before using, but they're already turning a golden brown. Love this easy idea for myself and also for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I will never buy ready-made vanilla extract again! This was so easy to make, and the best part is, I know exactly what's in it. This is a great gift for friends. I'll be making it all year-round for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
The best vanilla extract I have ever had love it and very simple to make will never buy vanilla extract from a store again awesome recipe thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
So simple, made a great addition to a baking lovers gift this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We always have 2 large vodka bottles brewing with vanilla beans at all times. Love it in coffee, hot chocolate, plain yogurt, bubbly water, baking, anything really. Good Tip is to label your bottles with the date that you started, or you will forget. Also when the alcohol smell is gone, then it is ready to use. Give the bottle a shake periodically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Wonderful !! I have even mixed it up a bit by adding bananas to the vodka first for baking banana & zucchini breads. Try a flavored vodka for a different kick to cookies. I will not buy store vanilla ever again. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I followed the recipe and after 5 months I am disappointed in the results so far. Fairly weak flavor, and that's with using extract grade beans. The recipe doesn't even specify to use them and I expect the results would be even more disappointing using regular grade beans. I agree with those who assert that more beans are needed for this to work. I just now added 5 more beans and we'll see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I made a double batch of this starting on October 15, 2011. I made a batch with vodka and another at the suggestion of What's for Dinner, mom? using bourbon. Each bottle was 750 ml and I put in 10 split vanilla beans that I purchased from spicesage. I waited the 6 months before using it, shaking the bottles every week or so. The results are wonderful smelling vanilla. I made a batch of 'Vanilla Wafers II' from this site, spliting the recipe so that I could use both vanillas in the same recipe. Both cookies had a great vanilla taste, and you could tell a difference. I would like to make this again to have for Christmas gifts. I won't be purchasing pure vanilla anymore when this one is so easy to make. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I used 750ml of a good-quality vodka, and 24 small vanilla beans I had ordered some months back that had started drying out. It took less than a week before the extract was a good, dark colour, that smelled entirely of vanilla. I admit - I tasted it at that point, and it seemed ready to go. Fewer beans and I would let it steep for longer to extract the maximum flavour. I also sliced each bean in half lengthwise and scraped out the seeds. I tossed everything into the vodka. I will make my own from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherilyn Nobleza
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States