Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This has such a great flavor and so much fun to make. I made it in August, and used it for all of my Christmas cookies and fudge. It's nice to have and to use very generously in all of my recipes. I won't be buying any more vanilla. Thanks for sharing your recipe RE_BEKAH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made this several years ago and I'll probably use the last of it in the next few months. Thanks to this recipe, I will NEVER buy vanilla extract again. This time when I make it I will make 1/2 a liter instead of a full liter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I used the 10 Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Beans with 2 Mexican Vanilla Beans, the Vodka itself is mixed with a little Bourbon and Dark Rum. These things I listed are what I did with my Vanilla Extract and It's PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Count Wes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
8 grade A, Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla beans found via Ebay, split down the middle submerged in 750 ml Jim Bean Bourbon. (Walmart $12)started. At 8 months there is very little flavor. You can buy a bottle of 16 ounce pure vanilla extract for $8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I tried it and love the result-can't wait until it's ready for my friends to use! I'm giving as Christmas gifts to my foodie friends, and I only started a week ago, so the tag includes directions to wait at least 2 more weeks before using, but they're already turning a golden brown. Love this easy idea for myself and also for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I will never buy ready-made vanilla extract again! This was so easy to make, and the best part is, I know exactly what's in it. This is a great gift for friends. I'll be making it all year-round for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
The best vanilla extract I have ever had love it and very simple to make will never buy vanilla extract from a store again awesome recipe thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
So simple, made a great addition to a baking lovers gift this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We always have 2 large vodka bottles brewing with vanilla beans at all times. Love it in coffee, hot chocolate, plain yogurt, bubbly water, baking, anything really. Good Tip is to label your bottles with the date that you started, or you will forget. Also when the alcohol smell is gone, then it is ready to use. Give the bottle a shake periodically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Wonderful !! I have even mixed it up a bit by adding bananas to the vodka first for baking banana & zucchini breads. Try a flavored vodka for a different kick to cookies. I will not buy store vanilla ever again. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States