Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
OMGosh All I can say is WOW! This could not have been easier or More tasty. I started the extract in Sept, some time after Labor Day and it is now a week before Christmas. I just used it to make my first Old Fashioned Vanilla Pudding from here and I also made Pumpkin Spice Chex Mix with it. I will Never Ever buy another bottle of the store vanilla. The beans are really Not that expensive considering what you get from them, pure vanilla flavor. hubby got mine on line and in fact, I got them Last Christmas and I finally made another good use out of that purchase. After I was done with the beans, I popped them in my sugar bowl, I guess I should have dried them off a bit cuz my sugar is a bit damp, LOL Oh well, live and learn and Buy more sugar to cover it all up! I payed about $5.00 for the vodka, the cheapest one I could find, it is in a plastic bottle and I kept it under the puter table in my bedroom. Every once in a while(read, when I remembered) I would drop to my knees and give it a shimmy shake. Knowing that in a short while I would be rewarded with a Terrific new addition to my spice rack:) The smell is like no other. You simple Must try this if for no other reason but to say Hey I Can make something that taste expensive but really isn't! You only use a tbl spoon or so at a time any way, the quart will last a good long while. I found another Keeper thanks to the good folks on this site. Thank You Re!! No need to tell you I will make this again and again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Well it's been 4 months since I started mine. I split open 10 Madagascar vanilla pods down the middle and put them in 750mL of Vodka. Even after 4 months, the color is not quite up to what I see in commercial vanilla extract. But it does smell great and surely my family who will receive this for Christmas will love it! Next time I will put even more vanilla pods and let it seep longer (~6 months).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
i bought extract grade madagasger vanilla beans on ebay from a French supplier. His ebay was in english but his correspondence was in french. Thank goodness for Julia Child and hi school Latin. These beans were grade B. The extract was very pale 8 weeks aging following this recipe. I then doubled the vanilla been after 2 months. I just added more this morning. The color is too light compared to commercial extract. It's starting to smell good, but don't trust my nose to judge strength of homemade vs commercial. I read that there is a glut of vanilla beans on the market. My Parisian source sent lots for under $10. My local liquor store had 50 ml plastic mini's of UV vodka for on-the-counter-basket special. I got four going and also a saved green screw top 350 ml bottle with Svedka poured over the recipe required number of beans. Pharmacy states all the bottles they use are plastic anymore. Druggist came up with 2 dusty 150 ml glass bottles and tops. Had not wanted to use plastic bottles at first but having found the 50 ml mini's....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made extract a few years ago watching martha stewart but somehow I got the recipe wrong I only added 4 beans to 1liter and it was vanilla vodka. It's been on my shelf for years I recently saw this and found out you can get beans on ebay for cheap. At my store 2 beans are $4. I added 10 madagascar extract grade. So far it looks great and smells great it's only been a week. For those that say it isn't vanilly enough you need to add more beans online best price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
What a wonderful receipe~ My boss is a celiac (Gluten sensitive) and cannot have any grain alcohol. I was taught by her, using potato vodka on making her own vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Steen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I've been making vanilla extracts and sugars for many years. Here are a few tips: You want to purchase the grade B beans not because they are cheaper (which they are) but because they have a lower water content. That is the grade used commercially. By splitting your beans, or snipping into small bits, you expose more surface area, which makes a better extract. Commercial V.E. is macerated. Since my big pantry bottle of extract contains lots of chopped beans, I strain what I need into a smaller bottle for my cupboard, and for gifts. Don't be afraid to add more beans. I prefer a double-strength extract myself. When your extract runs low; no need to toss your beans out. You can continue to use them by adding more vodka and beans to the existing batch if desired. If you feel your vanilla extract is too weak, just add a few more beans (the drier grade B beans). Go ahead and experiment. Madagascar a.k.a. Bourbon beans provide the traditional vanilla scent you are probably expecting. Tahitian vanilla beans are softer and more floral. Mexican vanilla extract pairs very well with chocolate. Hope that was helpful! Want to learn more? Search Wikipedia, or check out the FDA quidelines for making commercial extracts which are posted online fda_dot_gov.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Perfect! Best if you get vodka with 35% alcohol. Stolichnaya works wonderfully. Thanks RE_BEKAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I have a batch in the making....been about 6 months. Plan on adding a 4oz bottle to my Xmas cookie packages. Tip...get your vanilla beans on Ebay. Just won 30 beans for ONE CENT. Yes shipping is $5.99, but it's coming from France. Any tips on the labels for the bottles or where anyone gets their bottles...had an issue on Ebay...won 25 for .99 and I think the seller did not quite like that. Finally got them, but what a hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
So far so good, we're about a 3 weeks in now, and is so easy, smells super yummy. I rate this 5 stars based on simplicity, and smell alone. JUST WONDERFUL! Very excited for the finished product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberlia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I recently decided to make my own vanilla extract for gifts and resale (I want to start a business someday and am experimenting with some of the products I will carry). I have read a lot about the proper way to make it and cam across a site that states requirements (by the FDA) of vanilla extract. Apparently, it needs to be 6 beans per cup of alcohol, and anything less than that is just flavored liquor. Since I'll be selling mine eventually, this is the ratio I will go by. Also, it technically needs to be 70 proof (35%) alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryRookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States