Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I followed the recipe and after 5 months I am disappointed in the results so far. Fairly weak flavor, and that's with using extract grade beans. The recipe doesn't even specify to use them and I expect the results would be even more disappointing using regular grade beans. I agree with those who assert that more beans are needed for this to work. I just now added 5 more beans and we'll see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I made a double batch of this starting on October 15, 2011. I made a batch with vodka and another at the suggestion of What's for Dinner, mom? using bourbon. Each bottle was 750 ml and I put in 10 split vanilla beans that I purchased from spicesage. I waited the 6 months before using it, shaking the bottles every week or so. The results are wonderful smelling vanilla. I made a batch of 'Vanilla Wafers II' from this site, spliting the recipe so that I could use both vanillas in the same recipe. Both cookies had a great vanilla taste, and you could tell a difference. I would like to make this again to have for Christmas gifts. I won't be purchasing pure vanilla anymore when this one is so easy to make. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I used 750ml of a good-quality vodka, and 24 small vanilla beans I had ordered some months back that had started drying out. It took less than a week before the extract was a good, dark colour, that smelled entirely of vanilla. I admit - I tasted it at that point, and it seemed ready to go. Fewer beans and I would let it steep for longer to extract the maximum flavour. I also sliced each bean in half lengthwise and scraped out the seeds. I tossed everything into the vodka. I will make my own from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherilyn Nobleza
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
So much fun to make and wait for. I would go in to the cupboard every once in a while just to admire and shake the bottle! I started mine back in the spring to have ready for Christmas gifts. Recipients were intrigued and thrilled with such an unusual and useful gift. I will try more beans next time though, as it didn't seem as strong as it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Made this today...so easy! I can't wait to try it in three weeks! I used a medium size bottle of vodka and three beans. Update: I used my extract to make frosting. Yum! I plan to add more beans to make the flavor stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
One word: IndriVanilla! I got my vanilla beans from them really inexpensively. I did my vanilla extract in a combination of gold and spiced rum instead of vodka but followed the same method and it's amazing. I've been adding the empty pods after I scrape them and use them in other recipes, too, and the flavor is just getting better and better developed. So much better than storebought!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I started my extract a couple of months ago in preparation for Christmas gifts for my baker friends and family (I'm also making vanilla infused sugar for them as well). I decided to experiment with one bottle of Smirnoff Orange as well. I used the orange extract just last night in a custard recipe - and it was delicious! I can't wait to finish sampling all the other extracts I've made for my friends/family (want to make sure they taste yummy before I hand them out)! At first, I was a bit hesitant to make my own extracts/sugars because I thought the vanilla beans themselves were so expensive... but my friend told me to check eBay - and I buy the beans now by the 1/2 pound. Surprisingly less expensive and so far, they are excellent quality. :-) It's especially great if you're making a lot as gifts and need a lot of beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I bought some vanilla beans on ebay, following the suggestion of other reviewers. I love using this. It is so much cheaper, and fun to be using something I made myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Super easy. Very inexpensive. Batch #2 is already in the works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
At four months, I can see that my extract is moving in the right direction. I think it will be great at six months but there is no way that I would have used it at three weeks. Time is this recipe's best friend and I would not try to rush it with the minimum time recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States