Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
This is a good starting point, basic recipe. However, there is no mention of the quality of beans, other varieties of beans, and other alcohols. I've been making this for years, and have made many varieties... Tahitian beans, Mexican beans, as well as Madagascar. I've also used light and dark rums. Madagascar are what you would expect for vanilla. Mexican beans are a bit earthier, with a little smokiness. Tahitian are a bit brighter, with a little florally note. Through trial and successes (because really, there's no going wrong), I've found my preferred mix is 1/2 vodka, 1/4 light rum, 1/4 dark rum as the base. The rums give it a richer flavor in my opinion. For the beans, I use about 10 Madagascar, 5 Tahitian and 2 Mexican beans per 750ml of alcohol. MINIMUM wait time is 6 months. Leave the beans in for up to 18 months, then use the beans for ice cream. Vanilla extract is like wine, and will continue to mature for years, and will never go bad. So make large batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShandeeV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I made it using vanilla flavored vodka. That gave it a great taste. I won't buy vanilla in the store ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I will be doing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This has such a great flavor and so much fun to make. I made it in August, and used it for all of my Christmas cookies and fudge. It's nice to have and to use very generously in all of my recipes. I won't be buying any more vanilla. Thanks for sharing your recipe RE_BEKAH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made this several years ago and I'll probably use the last of it in the next few months. Thanks to this recipe, I will NEVER buy vanilla extract again. This time when I make it I will make 1/2 a liter instead of a full liter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I used the 10 Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Beans with 2 Mexican Vanilla Beans, the Vodka itself is mixed with a little Bourbon and Dark Rum. These things I listed are what I did with my Vanilla Extract and It's PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Count Wes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
8 grade A, Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla beans found via Ebay, split down the middle submerged in 750 ml Jim Bean Bourbon. (Walmart $12)started. At 8 months there is very little flavor. You can buy a bottle of 16 ounce pure vanilla extract for $8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I tried it and love the result-can't wait until it's ready for my friends to use! I'm giving as Christmas gifts to my foodie friends, and I only started a week ago, so the tag includes directions to wait at least 2 more weeks before using, but they're already turning a golden brown. Love this easy idea for myself and also for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I will never buy ready-made vanilla extract again! This was so easy to make, and the best part is, I know exactly what's in it. This is a great gift for friends. I'll be making it all year-round for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
The best vanilla extract I have ever had love it and very simple to make will never buy vanilla extract from a store again awesome recipe thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States