Homemade Twinkies® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Okay...these are incredible! Only change I MADE was with the filling. Everyone raved over the filling ,,,use all listed ingredients EXEPT the cream cheese...Taste it before adding the cheese andI really think you will LOVE IT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
These are quite tasty!! I had to give them a 4 star for now just because the filling was a might too sweet for my taste--even though most of the others tasting these enjoyed them as they were. I will definitely make them again but decrease the amount of powdered sugar by at least 1 cup. I tested them before freezing and after. Much better after they have been frozen--The texture and flavors are better. I used parchement paper as a liner for the baking pan with great results. This allowed me to bake one cake, pull it right out of the pan onto a cooling rack and then bake the second 1/2 of the cake portion of the recipe--since I only have one jelly roll pan at this time. I like the idea from Kathy W's review to use them as a shortcake base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
OMG!! This was delish! We were having friends over for dinner and I saw this recipe and decided to try it. Everyone loved it. I didn't change anything to the recipe itself but we had strawbwerries in our garden that were ripe and ready to pick so I used the twinkie as the base for strawberry shortcake. Very good but very fattening! Thanks Tyler I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I only used 4 oz cream cheese and 2 oz butter to 4 cups of icing sugar, I was concerned about it tasting too cheesy. I used 2 recipes of stabilized whipped cream for the Cool Whip. The Twinkies were good, very rich, the kids loved it. *Next time, 2 oz cream cheese, 2 oz butter and 2 1/2 cups icing sugar to 8 oz stabilized whipped cream, instead of 16 oz.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by kat
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made these for valentines day for my kids so I cut into heart shapes using a cookie cutter. They were very easy to make. and the filling is so yummy! I did cut the filling recipe in half as other reviewers said there was too much. I did still have some left over, but maybe next time I'll pipe more in. I will be making these again. I like the fact they held the cookie cutter shapes well! can't wait to try other shapes for different holidays! Thanks for a great recipe. I don't know who likes them more the adults or the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
OMG! These were such a hit at my party!!! I wouldn't change a thing. You can freeze any unused filling and use it in other recipes later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I would give this one 5 stars but it was way too much work for me. Also, I ended up with too much filling that I had to throw away. I think the filling mixture should be cut in half. Other than that it was very, very good and I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Casselton, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I plan on getting the canoe style muffin or cupcake pans. Then instead of cream cheese I will use a pudding recipe that I use for "Pistachio Cake" icing. Any flavor pudding will work I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These are VERY good! It's been years since I've had a Twinkie but I thought the cake part was pretty darn close. The filling was a little too cream cheesey for us. As a matter of fact, my husband & son didn't even finish their pieces. My daughter & I loved them regardless. I'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
So delicious and better than the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States