Homemade Twinkies® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I would give this one 5 stars but it was way too much work for me. Also, I ended up with too much filling that I had to throw away. I think the filling mixture should be cut in half. Other than that it was very, very good and I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Casselton, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
OMG!! This was delish! We were having friends over for dinner and I saw this recipe and decided to try it. Everyone loved it. I didn't change anything to the recipe itself but we had strawbwerries in our garden that were ripe and ready to pick so I used the twinkie as the base for strawberry shortcake. Very good but very fattening! Thanks Tyler I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
These are quite tasty!! I had to give them a 4 star for now just because the filling was a might too sweet for my taste--even though most of the others tasting these enjoyed them as they were. I will definitely make them again but decrease the amount of powdered sugar by at least 1 cup. I tested them before freezing and after. Much better after they have been frozen--The texture and flavors are better. I used parchement paper as a liner for the baking pan with great results. This allowed me to bake one cake, pull it right out of the pan onto a cooling rack and then bake the second 1/2 of the cake portion of the recipe--since I only have one jelly roll pan at this time. I like the idea from Kathy W's review to use them as a shortcake base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I had a horrible time cooking the cake. It burned the first time at 350 so I tried again at 290. I don't think my oven is that much too hot and wonder how other people got it to work. But they sure are tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
loved it! a little time consuming but fairly easy to make. topped with strawberries, it was the best shortcake i've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Wow! I wasn't expecting that to taste so great! As others mentioned I had twice as much filling as I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaci
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Wow, it is tons of work! I agree with the other reviews the filling recipe can be cut in half. Eat frozen -- very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I have a twinkie pan and made some of these using that pan...very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy!!! I made the cake part just like the recipe said, but I made my own filling. I didn't want something so rich w/ the cream cheese and all. So I made my whoopie pie filling for the center. Fantastic!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
So delicious and better than the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States