Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This was a simple and easy recipe to use i added some crushed red peppers to add a little bite to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Quick and easy sauce that tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Great little sauce, used seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Yummy. I used dried herbs instead of fresh. Good color & consistency. Nice basic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I used a 2 cans of paste because I doubled the recipe. Great sauce! I also added two tbs of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Couldn't be much simpler to make and tastes fresh and delicious. It is very like the sauce my late Italian mother in law used to make and she was a fantastic cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Tastes like my mother's Sunday sauce! I made it with Italian sausage, sliced and browned in the pan as the first step. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Great recipe! I added some sugar to cut some of the acidity and a little crushed red pepper along with a few more herbs. This was one of those "CAN I HAVE EXTRA BREAD PLEASE" sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I make this sauce quite similar. The difference in mine is I use extra virgin olive oil,I'm guessing about 1/2 tablespoon of oregano, and I use a bay leaf instead of basil leaves. I also cut 2 carrots cut in half and just throw them in the sauce. That cuts down on the acidity without having to add sugar and then you can easily remove them. Sometimes we throw in a hot red pepper to give it some heat. This sauce is the traditional sauce my mom and sisters have cooked for years that we've all carried on from my Nonna and we're all Italian. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Very close to authentic Italian sauce, but you need to add lots of fresh basil and use ONLY olive oil. A tiny bit of sugar is needed to cut down the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States