Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Turned out great with just the right amount of spice. I added less water for a thicker sauce. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I used tomato sauce instead of crushed tomatoes. The sauce is a little tangy but if you are using it with a very cheesy dish that is fine. I added more pepper to tone down the tanginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I used a 2 cans of paste because I doubled the recipe. Great sauce! I also added two tbs of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Great recipe! I added some sugar to cut some of the acidity and a little crushed red pepper along with a few more herbs. This was one of those "CAN I HAVE EXTRA BREAD PLEASE" sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This sauce was very good! The only substitution that I made was olive oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I hate to give this a 3, but I can't say if it was really good or not because I used this in a recipe which was disgusting. But it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Easy to make and a nice basic tomato sauce. The flavor was really nice, although I used dried basil and did add about 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese. Also, used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil...better flavor. The only thing I would change next time is to add a little less water because I prefer a slightly thicker sauce. All in all, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Tastes like my mother's Sunday sauce! I made it with Italian sausage, sliced and browned in the pan as the first step. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Yummy. I used dried herbs instead of fresh. Good color & consistency. Nice basic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Quick and easy sauce that tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States