Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very good sauce, and easy. I used Olive Oil instead, added basil and thyme to taste, and some crushed red pepper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeannieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Just missing some mushrooms (I love them) but still perfect - what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I make this sauce quite similar. The difference in mine is I use extra virgin olive oil,I'm guessing about 1/2 tablespoon of oregano, and I use a bay leaf instead of basil leaves. I also cut 2 carrots cut in half and just throw them in the sauce. That cuts down on the acidity without having to add sugar and then you can easily remove them. Sometimes we throw in a hot red pepper to give it some heat. This sauce is the traditional sauce my mom and sisters have cooked for years that we've all carried on from my Nonna and we're all Italian. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I may just be spoiled by dining out and/or commercial sauces, but this recipe didn't do much for me. I used virgin olive oil, Tspn sugar, fresh crushed roma tomatos, fresh basil leaves(cut up), 1.75 water, white onion, fresh ground pepper, & salt substitute. Even adding parm cheese & italian seasoning only improved it some. But, as others have said, its EASY to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Taste great and very easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Couldn't be much simpler to make and tastes fresh and delicious. It is very like the sauce my late Italian mother in law used to make and she was a fantastic cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very good. I agree it does need a bit of sugar. I felt I needed to remove the basil and garlic. Next time I'll finely chop them and leave them in. I will take the last reviewer's advice and use more basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Very close to authentic Italian sauce, but you need to add lots of fresh basil and use ONLY olive oil. A tiny bit of sugar is needed to cut down the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Great little sauce, used seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Turned out great with just the right amount of spice. I added less water for a thicker sauce. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States