Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I just made this last night for dinner with Sweet Honey French Bread (from this site). It was SUPER easy which cannot be said for most spaghetti sauce recipes. I used oregano instead of bay leaves (didn't have any) and olive oil instead of vege oil (as per reviews). I also added a tablespoon of white sugar for the bitterness and simmered mine for about an hour and a half, covered. The recipe didn't yield much (I know, I let mine cook down A LOT) but it was yummy! It was a perfect, sweet, tomato sauce...so simple that you could really appreciate each flavor. Will make again in large quantities to freeze :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Wonderful! I cooked mine with olive oil, a pound of beef, a couple of bay leaves, & Parmesan cheese. And I let it simmer in a slow cooker instead of on top of the stove. As soon as I added enough seasonings, it was just pperrfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Very good sauce! I used all ingredients in the recipe and just added a tablespoon of oregano, 2 bay leaves, and a couple of carrots (for added sugar to cut acidity--took out at the end of cooking) and some red pepper flakes. The recipe is good just as it is though. I just felt like "playing" a little and was thrilled with the outcome. A definite keeper! Thank you so very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
i was looking for a simple sauce to serve with meatballs for my picky family. this was super easy and they loved it. i'll never buy jar sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Very delicious sauce. This was my first attempt at making homemade sauce and this was the perfect recipe. I took the advice of previous reviewers and used EVOO instead of vegetable oil, and I added probably 2Tbs of sugar to cut down on the acidity, I actually might add a bit more. It was perfection. I can't wait to make some stuffed shells to use this with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I really like this recipe. I also used olive oil in place of vegetable oil. It is definitely better than the recipe I had been using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Delicious! This recipe is great for a first time sauce maker. My Italian sorority sisters gave their seal of approval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was really easy to throw together and tasted great. I sauteed the garlic with the onion and added basil, oregano and a pinch of sugar. I also used 1/2 c. wine instead of some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Like the others, I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and I also added a tablespoon of sugar to cut the acidity. I added small, uncooked pieces of stew beef, and some uncooked meatballs that I threw together. I put the heat on extra low and let it cook for about 4 hours. The sauce was great. I think adding uncooked beef or sausage gives it an extra good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tootie's mum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States