Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Nice flavor. Too thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good basic recipe that can be altered to suit your tastes. I used only 1.5 cups water, which made it the perfect consistency for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Pretty good, this is what I did..I added more basil then asked for and also added some fresh parsley i didnt have a can of crushed tomatoes so i used chopped tomatoes and decided to run them through the blender since i dont really like chunks in my sauce. I added lots and lots of garlic powder, garlic salt, and crushed red peppers, and of course I added the sugar as well. I mixed this sauce with some ground beef over some angel hair pasta...yummy! My roommates ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I thought this sauce tasted wonderful, but I couldn't find any basil or Parsley so I had to leave it with any real flavors. But I would cut down on the amount of water to just one cup, it came out more like a stew than a sauce. Another thing is that I didn't have a can of crushed tomatoes so I used about a kilo of fresh tomatoes, skinned but not seeded, I suggest to have more than a kilo, maybe about a kilo and a half, and put them in a blender for two or three seconds, so you have a smoother sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sushi4Majdi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Great base recipe! I used canned whole roma tomatoes and crushed them with my hands. Make sure you use a good brand of tomatos, preferably imported from Italy--it makes a difference. I only used 1 cup of water. As many others did, I used olive oil, added oregano, red pepper flakes, fresh parsley and a whole carrot(removed at end).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is a good, basic sauce. Made some minor adjustments based on my taste: Substituted extra virgin olive oil, and added a 1/2 tbsp brown sugar to cut acidity. Also added about a tsp of dried oregano (I like the added flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made this with a few changes. I added 1 can of tomato sauce, decreased water to 1 and 1/2 cups, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, added 1 clove of minced garlic, added dried basil. When sauce had thickened I added homemade meatballs. I poured the sauce over cooked rigatoni pasta, topped with grated pecorino/romano cheese, topped cheese with 3 slices of mozzarella cheese and baked for 20 minutes in 350 degree oven. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAWYAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Haddon Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I, too, used extra virgin olive oil. I also put in some carrots and celery. I used white wine instead of the water. I also added beef cubes and a couple of boneless pork chops. I don't like my sauce with "chunks" of stuff in it, so I ran it through a seive - it came out delicious. I usually make my own sauce using tomato puree. This was a nice change of pace. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
simplicity at its best. just what i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Nice basic sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States