Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This sauce is a snap to prepare and tastes great. I added a little sugar and oregano. I simmered it for about an hour, but would have cooked it even longer if I hadn't been so hungry. The recipe made plenty of sauce for my family of five. I'm sure it will be even better tomorrow! I used it to top Three Cheese Manicotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I love to make this sauce it's easy an great taste just like my grandmother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I use EVOO and much more fresh basil, and add a pinch of sugar and comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Delicious as is! Next time I might use a little more salt, and perhaps a bit of sugar as it seemed to be missing just that little something. That said, I could make it just the way it is again. My Italian Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I cooked for hours and hours on low and it was think and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made this yesterday and was going to rate it four stars. I served it over thin spaghetti and it was very good. Today I took the leftover sauce, "smoothed" it in the processor, and served it over cheese ravioli. WOW! The flavors blended overnight, and the slight bite of the black pepper was even better than my favorite Italian restaurant. My grandmother was northern Italian and grandfather was southern Italian, so I grew up with Italian cooking. Definitely the key to this sauce is using fresh basil and fresh garlic and yes, I altered the recipe and used olive oil. Easy, simple, delicious! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe. Substituted beef broth for the water, also added fresh tyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was very good. I don't eat meat so I needed a sauce that didn't use any bacon, pork, beef or chicken. I followed a tip offered in one of the other reviews and added 2 peeled and split carrots. This did cut the acidity. I might throw in a pinch of sugar but only because I like my sauce a little on the sweet side. I substituted 2 tbsp of olive oil for the vegetable oil. Thanks Mirella Cina this will be my sauce for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This recipe is delicious exactly as written. I make it almost weekly during the winter. The sauce also makes a great base for additions. I especially enjoy adding hot italian sausage. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
too much pepper although i did forget to add the water so i'll try again again and keep updated cause otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States