Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Made this the other day and used it for a salsa recipe. Excellent but time consuming but well worth it! Thank you for sharing it and will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Full rich bodied flavour, love it. I did as other readers suggested and added oregano, cut down the water to 1.5 cups, added a carrot to cut down acidity and added 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. I didn't have fresh basil so I used 1 tbsp. dried. Didn't have any celery so I used 1/8 tsp celery seed. Awesome sauce. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I liked it. Was in the mood for a new sauce and wanted it smooth, so after sautéing the onions and garlic (in olive oil), I threw them in the blender and back in the pan. I also pureed the tomatoes before throwing them in with the onions. I agree with others that it needed sugar and a lot more basil. I also added a splash of balsamic and some sugar. Came out great. 4 stars because of the needed modifications, but it really was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Delicious sauce and very easy. I was surprised to find it had a lot of flavor. I used olive oil instead of vegetable, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made it this morning to use in a chili recipe later today. Realized I was out of canned sauce and didn't want to drive to the grocery store. Figured my grandmother didn't have that luxury, so I got innovative. Fortunately I had most of the ingredients listed here ... and the Internet! I took the suggestion of adding 2 carrots instead of sugar, and a dried bay leaf in place of fresh basil. Excellent results. Will make again if needed. Fortunately this happened over a weekend, as I might have passed during the work week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I love this sauce. It is super easy and all the ingredients blend nicely together. I'm fairly picky about tomato sauce and I've never been able to find a recipe I truly like until now. My husband and kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I used a couple of tips from other reviewers: used olive oil, added a bay leaf while cooking, added two carrots cut in half while cooking, used a bit less water. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This sauce is a snap to prepare and tastes great. I added a little sugar and oregano. I simmered it for about an hour, but would have cooked it even longer if I hadn't been so hungry. The recipe made plenty of sauce for my family of five. I'm sure it will be even better tomorrow! I used it to top Three Cheese Manicotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I love to make this sauce it's easy an great taste just like my grandmother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I use EVOO and much more fresh basil, and add a pinch of sugar and comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States