Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
Really great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This recipe turned out to be a great use for my garden tomatoes. I followed the recipe, but I did puree the sauce after the 2 hour simmer time (as suggested in a previous review - thanks.) I froze the leftovers and it still tastes great after thawing. It was just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
A very tasty recipe. If you wish add cooked ground beef, salt and pepper. A good recipe to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
It takes a lot of time but the result is well worth the wait. I made big batches and froze it for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
A great way to take advantage of the summer harvest! I've made 3 batches of this already and I've got another month of tomaote season left. I made this in the slow cooker and it was wonderful. Instead of Italian Seasoning I used fresh sage, oregano, thyme and rosemary...I just cut large branches of each herb and placed it on top of the crushed tomatoes. Before packaging I removed all the stems. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I am just about done cooking this sauce from a bunch of free tomatoes we just received. I can say even now, before the sauce is completed, that it's AWESOME. I too don't like chunky vege's in my sauce, so I pureed them all. (I added roasted peppers also that I pureed).I had to add more seasoning 1/2 way through because it was a tad bland and I had to add sugar because it was too tart. For us, it looks and tastes like homemade sauce. I tripled the recipe to fit the amount of tomatoes I have and I will freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Absolutely amazing, and so simple to make. Like a few others on here, I pureed all of the tomatoes (I don't like chunky sauce.) I also omitted the burgandy wine, using wine and garlic seasoning instead. I will never use another tomatos sauce recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYMSTARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This was so good! I did use 2 small cans of tomato paste and 2 small cans of tomato sauce and a pinch of cinnamon. My sister and husband said it was the best they ever had. It was definitely worth the work and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This was excellent. I used tomatoes from our garden, so it tasted incredibly sweet and fresh. I left out the wine and added a little salt and pepper and it was just wonderful. I also pureed all the veggies so it was more kid friendly. I'm going to use all our extra tomatoes to make batches to freeze for over the winter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States