Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This was a good recipe, I found it too bland for my taste, so I added at the 2hour cooking point about 1 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of pepper, 1/2 teaspoon of Oregano and 1/2 teaspoon of thyme. Also after the first 2 hours of cooking it covered, I let it cook uncovered to reduce it, making it thicker and more flavorful. I will make again with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was my very first time making tomato sauce from scratch. We have a bumper crop of Roma tomatoes this year, more than we know what to do with so I decided to try out this recipe and hopefully freeze off the extra sauce for the winter months. It was fantastic! Only I can see why some folks might be having problems with this recipe, the recipe says "10 Tomatoes' but does not specify how large the tomatoes should be. For all practical purposes, it should say "10 large Tomatoes" because the size and the amount of the other ingredients DOES make a difference! Having said that, I quadrupled this recipe (using the portion converter) since I had 40 very medium Roma tomatoes, cut down on the amount of peppers and carrots, I used chopped baby carrots too since that made it much easier to cut into small pieces. I also threw in 2 dried red chillies (you can get them from the Indian grocery) along with the bay leaves and celery stalks while the whole thing simmered, in order to give it a bit of a kick. I also replaced the Italian spices with fresh thyme and oregano like other posters had recommended. It was superb! It freezes well too and can easily be warmed up and be added with either cooked ground veal or pieces of Italian sausage for a non-vegetarian sauce for later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
836 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This is a great basic recipe! Easy to follow and easy to do as this was my first attempt to make homemade tomato sauce. I did make changes. I carmalized the onions and omitted the carrots and burgundy. Also, after the sauce had been cooking for two hours, I poured it into the blender to puree it; my kids hate vegetable chunks in their sauce, so I did this to disguise the other veggies! Sneaky, huh. Also, I added salt and used oregano, thyme, and parsley instead of a general Italian seasoning. Overall, this was a great recipe starter for a tasty sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very good recipe. Always looking for good tomatoe sauce recipes and found one in this one. Everyone enjoyed the spagetti and meatballs. One thing I recommend is to score the bottom of the tomatoes with an X as this makes it easier to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
It takes a lot of time but the result is well worth the wait. I made big batches and froze it for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
A great way to take advantage of the summer harvest! I've made 3 batches of this already and I've got another month of tomaote season left. I made this in the slow cooker and it was wonderful. Instead of Italian Seasoning I used fresh sage, oregano, thyme and rosemary...I just cut large branches of each herb and placed it on top of the crushed tomatoes. Before packaging I removed all the stems. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I used Roma tomatoes so it was nice and thick without having to leave it uncovered the last 2 hours of cooking. However I did add 3/4tsp fresh thyme, 3/4tsp fresh oregano, 1tsp Lawry's seasoned salt and 1/2tsp fresh ground pepper. I pureed everything as other readers did. I used this sauce to make lasagna and with what was left I served as a side dish with Italian sausage. This is a good sauce to make if you are serving to people who do not like spicy, hot. For just my husband and I, I would also include a tsp of red pepper flakes. Thanks for a good basic recipe using fresh tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
After going to a local event called the Tomato Festival, I was able to get 20 tomatoes for only $4.00. I always wanted to make tomato sauce from scratch. I doubled the recipe. I fried pepperoni in the beginning and used the grease to cook the onion and pepper. I managed to get away with not using any tomato paste after simmering it for over 8 hours to reduce it. I added a 1/2 cup of Romono cheese, and cooked the sauce with whole carrots and later removed them. I pureed the sauce then added 3 drops of red food coloring to bring back the bright red color. Excellent recipe with a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This was very tasty except....don't forget to add salt (I used about 1 1/2 tsp.) and some sugar if it's too tangy (I used about 1 tsp)I also used the tomato paste to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
A very tasty recipe. If you wish add cooked ground beef, salt and pepper. A good recipe to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States