Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
Really great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
A very tasty recipe. If you wish add cooked ground beef, salt and pepper. A good recipe to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
It takes a lot of time but the result is well worth the wait. I made big batches and froze it for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This was a good recipe, I found it too bland for my taste, so I added at the 2hour cooking point about 1 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of pepper, 1/2 teaspoon of Oregano and 1/2 teaspoon of thyme. Also after the first 2 hours of cooking it covered, I let it cook uncovered to reduce it, making it thicker and more flavorful. I will make again with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This is a great basic recipe! Easy to follow and easy to do as this was my first attempt to make homemade tomato sauce. I did make changes. I carmalized the onions and omitted the carrots and burgundy. Also, after the sauce had been cooking for two hours, I poured it into the blender to puree it; my kids hate vegetable chunks in their sauce, so I did this to disguise the other veggies! Sneaky, huh. Also, I added salt and used oregano, thyme, and parsley instead of a general Italian seasoning. Overall, this was a great recipe starter for a tasty sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
A great way to take advantage of the summer harvest! I've made 3 batches of this already and I've got another month of tomaote season left. I made this in the slow cooker and it was wonderful. Instead of Italian Seasoning I used fresh sage, oregano, thyme and rosemary...I just cut large branches of each herb and placed it on top of the crushed tomatoes. Before packaging I removed all the stems. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This recipe turned out to be a great use for my garden tomatoes. I followed the recipe, but I did puree the sauce after the 2 hour simmer time (as suggested in a previous review - thanks.) I froze the leftovers and it still tastes great after thawing. It was just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
This is really very good. We used it as the tomato sauce base for a eggplant parmagiana dish. It worked like magic. Great recipe Gail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Good, a little tart, but that is to be expected with fresh tomatoes. A couple of teaspoons of sugar took care of that. I also added some ground meat to make it more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States