Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is the best pasta sauce I have ever eaten. I used to buy canned sauce and add meat to it, however, after eating this I will continue making sauce from scratch. With all the filling vegetables there is no need for meat, poultry, fish etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilyanne8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious !!!!!! I used one red bell pepper instead of the green, only one carrot and no sugar at all. I substitute the wine for ½ cup of beef broth. As mentioned by other readers, I added more salt and double the seasonings and also added dried oregano, 1 dried red chille pepper and ½ teaspoon red pepper flacks. Two fantastic hints that helped me a lot: 1) Make an x at the bottom of the tomatoes before put them in the boiling water. It peeled so easily! 2) Blend everything after the first 2 hours. I included the celery to be added to the puree. My hint – Discard the bay leave and red dried chilli before you put it on the blender. I almost forgot! No more grocery tomato sauce for me. This is too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Great flavor! But its going to look "chunkier" than the picture. Next time, I will puree the sauce at the two hour mark for a smoother appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
very tasty sauce, I have many carrots to use up this year and will use this recipe to can up my tomatoes this year. I did a trial run and used the sauce in lasagna-family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I used tomatoes out of my garden. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great! Needed alot of salt, but i followed the reviews and added about 1 1/2 tbsp at the 2 hr mark. Added 2 more tbsp of red wine and left out the bay leaf and celery. Great with meatballs and pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
tasty tomato sauce however, i think i'll leave out the carrots next time cuz my sauce came out a lot sweeter tasting than i wanted it to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This sauce was very good, however it needed a little more flaver so I added extra green bell peppers and crushed red peppers...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Had some of my Grandmother's tomatoes to use and am so glad this was what I chose to make! Sauce turned out GREAT ... a little chunky, which is perfect for us. I'm planning to add some red pepper flakes and make an arrabiata style sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I used fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden and red cooking wine in my version. I did let it thicken as I was making sloppy joes for my husband. Very tasty. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States