Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
My first time making homemade tomato sauce and I had fun doing it. The recipe didn't say what kind of tomatoes to use so I picked my favorite ones - roma tomatoes. I used 9 ripe roma tomatoes. I had fresh basil, chopped. In placed of Italian Seasoning I used a small amount of fresh sage, oregano, thyme and a tiny sprig of rosemary- all finely diced. I added the rest of the ingredients called for in the recipe and simmered, covered, for 2 hours. Towards the 2 hour mark I tasted it and thought it needed just a pinch of sugar to cut down on the amount of acidity and a little salt, to taste. I continued to simmer for a while more, uncovered until it thickened a little. Tasty, flavorful after simmering for a while. Next time I make this I will make it a point to cut down the veggies into really small pieces or better yet, grate it into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Just made this today, and canned it for future use. It is so good. The only thing I left out was the bell pepper, but that is because my husband does not care for it. I would have loved to added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Great Recipe, Thanks :) Did add salt and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very good. I made the following changes: only added 1 tbsp tomato paste-- used merlot-- added 8 or so stems of thyme-- used 20 roma tomatoes-- cooked for 4 hours-- added 1 tsp seasoned salt-- after cutting up the tomatoes, I pureed them using a hand blender with the carrots, onions & bellpeppers-- after cooking and removing bay leaves (3), thyme stems and celery, I then used the hand blender again to make the sauce completely smooth-- My sauce was lighter in color than most of the pics here. Looks more like vodka sauce. Next time I may skip the carrots and bellpeppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deannamarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
We had a great tomato crop this year & made sauce from scratch for the first time. This recipe was great. We used the crockpot to simmer for 4 hours. Cooked on the stove for 30min then transferred to the crockpot. Used 20 small to medium tomatoes. I also pureed all of the veggies for a smooth sauce. Used an open bottle of merlot for the wine, 1/8 cup dried basil instead of fresh. and as someone else suggested at the 2 hour mark added 1 tspn salt, 1/2 tspn pepper, oregano and thyme. We will be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This came out well, nice texture and fresh taste. Needed seasoning though, kind of bland and a little bit tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This turned out pretty good and for the most part was pretty easy! I did make some changes to my version however. We didn't have any wine so instead I used beef broth. I also added a couple of pinches of crushed red pepper flakes to give it a little bit more flavor. It didn't make it spicy at all just gave it a little more flavor. Over all I'm very happy with the way it turned out and will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This recipe is great. I tried it w while ago, when trying to figure out ways to keep our grocery bill down. Since it dis not specify what type of tomatoes to use I have tried them all. I get the best results with Romas and my husband loves it. I cut the celery into small pieces with the onions, garlic and carrots, and don't use green peppers (we don't like them). I make huge batches of this and keep lots in the freezer. Add to cooked gr. beef or with meatballs and this is amazing. I had my family over for supper the other day and my mom asked where I bought the sauce in the lasanga. I was super proud to be able to tell them that I had made it from scratch:) Thank you MOLSON7 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I omitted the wine, celery, carrots, and bell pepper. I wanted a plain tomato sauce, and this recipe served as a good base. I added much more garlic & used my homegrown heirloom tomatoes. The process was fairly easy and the recipe easy to follow. I also omitted the butter and used only EVOO. I did not add chunks, as I like my sauce thin. I let this cook covered for two hours, adding in thyme, italian seasoning, bay leaves, oregano, extra salt & pepper. Then I added 1 small can of tomato sauce and let cook for another hour uncovered. Added another can tomatoe sauce, some more pepper & fresh oregano then let cook on low for another hour and a half. This came out great. I made a triple batch and was able to freeze quite a bit. The whole family was impressed, even both of my kids. I have definitely added this recipe to my book & it will remain there! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States