Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious !!!!!! I used one red bell pepper instead of the green, only one carrot and no sugar at all. I substitute the wine for ½ cup of beef broth. As mentioned by other readers, I added more salt and double the seasonings and also added dried oregano, 1 dried red chille pepper and ½ teaspoon red pepper flacks. Two fantastic hints that helped me a lot: 1) Make an x at the bottom of the tomatoes before put them in the boiling water. It peeled so easily! 2) Blend everything after the first 2 hours. I included the celery to be added to the puree. My hint – Discard the bay leave and red dried chilli before you put it on the blender. I almost forgot! No more grocery tomato sauce for me. This is too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Great flavor! But its going to look "chunkier" than the picture. Next time, I will puree the sauce at the two hour mark for a smoother appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
very tasty sauce, I have many carrots to use up this year and will use this recipe to can up my tomatoes this year. I did a trial run and used the sauce in lasagna-family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I used tomatoes out of my garden. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great! Needed alot of salt, but i followed the reviews and added about 1 1/2 tbsp at the 2 hr mark. Added 2 more tbsp of red wine and left out the bay leaf and celery. Great with meatballs and pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
tasty tomato sauce however, i think i'll leave out the carrots next time cuz my sauce came out a lot sweeter tasting than i wanted it to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This sauce was very good, however it needed a little more flaver so I added extra green bell peppers and crushed red peppers...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Had some of my Grandmother's tomatoes to use and am so glad this was what I chose to make! Sauce turned out GREAT ... a little chunky, which is perfect for us. I'm planning to add some red pepper flakes and make an arrabiata style sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I used fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden and red cooking wine in my version. I did let it thicken as I was making sloppy joes for my husband. Very tasty. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I tried this tonight and everyone LOVED it!! Absolutely worth the effort that goes into it!! I don't think I am going to be able to feed my family store bought sauce ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States