Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I do have a large crop of tomatoes and I make a Pomarola, which is same as the recipe, I scald the tomatoes, peel, cut up in chunks and put them in a large container with the juice then I remove the chunky tomatoes with a slotted spoon, drain the liquid in a colander ( Save the juice )and remove the seeds. Do this two or three times. chop the celery, green peppers, carrots and onions, since I make about 16 quarfs at the time I saute the veggies in batches, while I saute the veggies the tomatoes are on the fire to a boil and I add the sauted veggies as they cook. Bring to a boil and cook for about one- two hours, then I take an immersion blender and puree the whole batch Add spices such as basel Italian seasoning salt pepper sugar red wine and pepper flakes and I also add a couple of 15 OZ Pastorelli pizza sauce. The pizza sauce will add same zest and brighten up the sauce. I freeze it in Freezer bags 2, 1/2 cups is enough for one pound of pasta. When ready to use I cook some Italian sausage and 93% lean ground beef for sauce with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Never thought I'd say this, but this sauce is better than Mom's! You can use crushed bay leaves if you don't have a whole leaf, and you don't have to remove them, and the sauce will be fine. I halved the recipe because I only had that many ingredients, and it was amazing. Thanks for a lovely vegetarian sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made this sauce today and it is absolutely fabulous. I had about 20 tomatoes of various types (pureed all), used 7 cloves of Garlic about 6 baby carrots and the whole can of tomato paste. The other amounts stayed the same. I also added salt to taste! Since its summer time and i rather go golfing then stand in front of a stove, I put everything in my crockpot on high for 4 hrs and then switched to low for another 4hrs. I will make this alot and freeze it. It tastes like summer. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHENA81

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I quadrupled this recipe using home-canned tomato puree. I left out the celery and used dried basil, oregano, thyme, marjoram, and crushed rosemary instead of the Italian seasoning. I simmered, covered, for 2 hours and then removed the lid and simmered another hour and it was extremely thick. I added a little sugar to cut the tartness toward the end. Delicious! This will be my go-to sauce from now on. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Delicious Sauce, and great use for all my Garden Tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
The recipe is great. It does require you to taste and adjust. Mainly because of the size and ripeness of the tomatoes. I had 8 plum and i followed the recipe exactly but pureed everything after 2 hours then added some honey and white sugar to sweeten it up then a bit of salt to bring out all the flavors. I also added additional paste for more color. A fine recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe for the most part. I did add a red bell pepper and some chili flakes, for a little heat. Since I did not want to be tied to the stove, I put everything in my slow-cooker, set it on high for 8 hours and then blitzed everything in a food processor. And to make clean-up easier I used one of those slow-cooker liners. (Love those!) Yummy, yummy sauce! Will definitely make again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I loved this recipe..made one batch last week and I'm about to do the same..I added alot of fresh vegetables due to the abundance of them from the garden..I guess I just used this recipe for a base and went from there..the x in the tomato bottom Made it very easy to peel..I also cooked all the veggies and the pureeed them in so my kids don't know!! Mushrooms..peppers..carrots..eggplant..it's all in there and they will never know..I also used all fresh herbs..made a great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Excellent taste, my whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Overall this is a yummy sauce. I just think everyone has such different tastes when it comes to tomato sauce. There was a bit too much italian seasoning for me. I ended up adding more tomatoes to even it out a bit more. I also added sugar as we tend to like sweeter sauces. Making this one gave me a good base recipe and confidence to try some of my own alterations to tomato sauce though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States