Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
hmmmmm... this was not what i expected AT ALL.. i followed the recipe to a T.. except i substituted merlot. my hubby was not pleased w/this. he said it was too sweet & cinammon-y. he had to take over by adding practically every spice in the house, thinning it out w/ watter ( even though i insisted he used chicken stock) & smashing it w/ a bean/ potato masher. this was too thick, chuncky for pasta. it was like stewed tomatos texture. i will never make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I thought this recipe was fantastic. It was definitely time consuming, but worth it if you can use tomatoes from your garden. I had one lone tomato that wasn't popping or starting to peel but my advice is to pull it anyway from the pot. When I finally pulled it, it was so mushy and gave me very little fruit out of it, that I was bummed b/c it was the largest tomato from the batch. I also have a bag of jalapeno powder from Hatch, NM. I added a pinch b/c it gives anything just a little pop when I am looking for flavor. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
turned out really good but i tripled the recipe and added lots of salt, garlic salt, extra Italian seasoning, a couple shakes of red pepper flakes and extra garlic. just be sure you DE-STRING THE CELERY!!! I didn't and keep finding celery strings in my sauce even after I took out all the celery and the bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
The sauce tasted like carrots. I was pretty much like pouring V8 over spaghetti noodles. I followed the recipe to a T and it didnt turn out right. I had to cut it with store bought tomato sauce to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I just made my second batch of sauce using my crop of tomatoes. A 30 minute prep time is a little ambitious unless you are a super fast chopper! I chopped the onions, pepper, carrots and garlic first...had them "sweating" while I skinned the tomatoes. It took me about 60 minutes to get to the point where I could blend the tomatoes and combine all ingredients. With regard to salt: I didn't miss it at all with my first batch but I do with my second. I suspect the flavor of your tomatoes as they change over the season is the driver. I recommend “season to taste” but only just before serving. You never know how the flavors will mature. Also, I used sweet red pepper instead of green--my personal preference. I love the recipe and expect to get another batch into my freezer before the end of the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Made this with homegrown tomatoes (heirloom and big boy). It was bland, albeit a great tomato flavor. Added a couple cans of tomato paste as the tomatoes were really watery. Also added some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Made this twice now and think it's a pretty good recipe and a nice way to use up our garden's tomatoes! Very time intensive, but sauce is. I added a jalapeño pepper and some red pepper flakes the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was my first attempt at making tomato sauce, but it seemed like a good use for our overabundance of regular tomatoes this year after we'd shared several pails. Since we didn't have Roma tomatoes, I gave each tomato an extra squeeze to remove extra juice before tossing them in the food processor. The sauce was tasty, but tasted a little too much like plain tomatoes and I was looking for more of a spaghetti sauce. I added several diced mushrooms, 2 teaspoons of sea salt, a tablespoon of sugar, and several shakes of oregano. It was delicious, and I froze several bags from the tripled recipe to enjoy this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe. I thought that it needed just a little bit more flavor, however. I added 1 T. of sugar, 1 t. of salt, 1 t. oregano, and 1 t. of fennel seed. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States