Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I had so many tomatoes in my garden I had to find something to do with them. This recipe is simple and delicious! My family said it was the best I ever made! I added a little crushed red pepper for some zing and ground beef too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I made this Sat. July28, 2012, i tweeked it a bit, used mushrooms and fresh oregano, lots of basil from my garden. It came out good, still cooking it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christaann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Of Spain, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
this was my first attempt at making my own tomato sauce, and it came out great!! I did not use carrots or celery. I kind of tweaked it a little and added more wine, garlic and more herbs than the recipe called for and I didn't cook it for 4 hours either, I only cooked this for 2 hours and it was still good. I also added sausage for a little meatiness! I will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldengirl911

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was my first time making sauce from scratch and it was AWESOME!! I added some homemade meatballs too. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
It only takes 10 seconds or so for tomatoes plunged in boiling water to remove the skins. Don't boil for one min. The ice water bath is recommended. I have been skinning tomatoes for years and 1 min. is way to long unless you want to cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I have never made tomato sauce from scratch. I doubled the ingredients as my tomatoes were quite small. I made it per the recipe, but then added a 6 oz can of tomato paste, a little sea salt, sauteed ground beef and used an immersion blender to blend it all together. Definitely a keeper! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Hearty and worth the effort. Multiplied the recipe by 4 times and it came out fantastic. The only thing I did different was add a 1/4 cup of fresh Parmesan per batch, wow this is great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I'm rather new in developing my cooking skills. This is my first time making a tomato sauce. At first, I was concerned that there was too much garlic and basil but however have learned that fresh basil is milder in taste and the garlic cooks down well to make a very good balance. I do think one should pay attention to the size of carrots selected. I was pleased with the results and would recomend this recipe, as is, to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skycop

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Creswell, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I see you use basil. I have sweet basil that I actually grow and use. But I am a male trying to cook good. Your recipe looks kinda country or like mom made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
this sauce is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by f_ckyeahirock

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States