Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This recipe is fantastic and worth the extra work. After the initial cooking of the sauce, we added a bit of cooked chicken and Italian sausage and served with bowtie pasta. Just wow is all we can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SupPup
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Wow... this sauce tastes incredible!!! I was skeptical when I started because it was just so tomatoey and runny at first. I doubled the recipe because I had more than 20 organic tomatoes from our CSA. Other than doubling, I followed the recipe completely with the exception of adding just a bit of red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, and sugar. The one thing I wasn't crazy about was de-seeding the tomatoes because I felt like I lost too much. Next time I may de-seed and just run that stuff through the blender longer than the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is the best and I added a hot pepper to it and it really kicked it up a notch. Also, I didn't need the tomatoe paste as it was nice and thick. wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is a very good BASIC tomato sauce recipe. However if you follow it exactly, you will end up with a very basic and bland sauce. I use this recipe as a base, then add vinegar, sugar, worchestershire sauce, salt, and peppers to taste until it pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This recipe is superb! I omitted the carrots because I didn't have any and only used 3 cloves of garlic which was all I had on hand. I also took Patricia's advice up there and added 1 tsp Kosher salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp oregano and 1/2 tsp ground thyme. Excellent call, Miss Patricia. I also used a red wine from a local pizzeria/brewery that we had tucked into the rear of the fridge by chance and it worked out great. Not sure exactly what it was because it just said "Bicentennial Red" on the label and was a very dark reddish purple color (sorry I am not a wine guy), but thankfully it was divine. During the last 2 hours I also decided to brown 1 lb. of lean ground beef and toss that into the mix, unseasoned of course. I like my sauce nice and thick and the addition of the beef seemed to drop the cooking time down to only 1 hour during the last half of the simmering process since most of the liquid had boiled off by the 3 hour simmer mark. Good thing because I was ravenous with hunger by that time. In all honesty and with as much humbleness and humility as I can muster while admitting this, after making this recipe I came to the conclusion that this is something for which I would pay a good chunk of money. While eating this dish I pictured myself sitting in a tiny, family owned restaurant tucked away in the back corner of some alley in Italy. Maybe I'll go there some day and compare. Thanks to the uploader and Patricia for the seasoning suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This sauce is a wonderful base for pasta sauce. I followed the recipe, but had to add salt, garlic powder, and more wine to jazz up the flavor. I added the rind of some Parmesan cheese and used a whole small can of paste as I used a few more tomatoes than 10. I love the flavor and the smell in my house is wonderful. I will make this sauce again as it is so delicious and full of possibilities. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I followed Patricia's lead except I forgot the Black Pepper. Best darn sauce I ever made. I canned it for a later meal. Those that have tasted it want me to make them some. Thank's Patricia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Made this for the first time this morning. The best tomato sauce ever. I am going to freeze the remainder if it is not all eaten tonight. Very good way to use up all the extra tomatoes out of my lovely garden. All the tomatoes I used were Celebrity Tomatoes. Also used my Bell Peppers, Onions and basil fresh out of my garden.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I'm sorry to say this - but I followed the directions to the letter. It was too watery (after de-seeding etc) and was very tasteless. I followed all directions, used fresh basil etc. I was so upset to spend so much time on this and I ended up mixing it with jarred it was so bland and m'eh. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I followed the basic recipe but added salt and sugar to taste. I also added a dash of baking soda to cut acidity. I used a red bell pepper, which I roasted on my stove burner, peeled off the skin and then chopped and added to the tomato mixture. I caramelized the onion while sauteing the carrots. When everything cooked down, I tossed out the bay leaf and celery (but not the celery leaves). I pureed everything once again, using my immersion blender. I was very happy with the intensified flavors. I am going to use it over spaghetti squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States