Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made this recipe today...I agree with many that it is a "good base recipe"....as written...it comes out very bland. I used black pepper, thyme, additional basil, and additional Italian Seasoning to make it taste great. One great variable is the type of Tomatoes you may be using.....I am using Southern Tomatoes....Big Boys...and Better Boys...I used no sugar. I also added at least a tablespoon of salt. If you "play with it"....I am sure you can make it work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
It's a good basic tomato sauce. I didn't use the wine, puréed the veggies w/ the tomatoes (wouldn't want my boys to know that there's veggies in red sauce. Gasp!), and let it bubble in my crockpot all day. It's easy to set and forget after the initial prep. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I was looking for an easy first time homemade sauce recipe as well and this was pretty good. It was easy to follow and turned out very tasty. I just made this yesterday and added some salt, a bit more garlic and about 10 dashes of hot sauce to give it a kick as well. I added the salt at the 2 hour mark. The next time I make it I will puree it to hide some of the veggies to trick my kids who are used to smooth jar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
What a Great recipe! I am eating it right now for lunch. We had an abundance of Tomatoes and Peppers this year and I figured I would try making sauce to can. I didn't need to add the tomato paste, my tomatoes were very meaty and after the 2 hour I added more oregano, thyme and Marjoram. I also kept the celery stock in -I used the heart of the celery so it would not be so dominate. Thanks so much for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
We had a lot if extra tomatoes and this made a good sauce overall. I modified the spices to our taste and added about a teaspoon of salt. I'd definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was incredible -- very good. Made exactly per recipe and it was a hit with the whole family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My husband made this recipe for the first time today. The flavor is great with the exception that it needs more spices. He followed the recipe to the letter, did't and still doesn't know why the carrots, using the recipe scaler program on this site. We added salt and more fresh itialian spices. He was looking for a smooth tomatoe sauce for use later and this was much chunkier more like a pasta sauce. We took the sauce from the stove at the 2 hour mark, remove the bay leaves, and pureed it celery and all. The sauce turned an orange color like a vodika sauce and thickened up nicely. We will use this recipe in the future and see if back on the carrots will let it stay red. We used San Marsano tomatoes, and my husband put in marsalla instead of burgundy. Thanks to all who have commented and to the person who submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverton, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This was my first time making tomato sauce. Having time on my hands and an abundance of tomatoes in the garden., I thought I'd give it a try. I followed the recipe as written until after the 2-hour mark. Then I added extra spices and herbs. It didn't make much but next year I'll plant more tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
It's the second year for this recipe. Used 35, 3/4 to 1# Big Boy Tomatoes. Chopped 3 Jalepeno peppers for a little kick. 1 tbl. salt, 1 tbl. oregano. Second simmer was 4 hrs., uncovered, to get thickened. Produced 36, 4oz. servings. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Having never made homemade sauce before I tried this one. I did end up using more tomatoes than called for because mine were smaller. I followed the directions till the two hour mark then added pepper, salt, and more garlic and italian seasonings. I then let it simmer the extra two hours and added it straight to the cooked ground beef. At this point I added more tomato paste to make it saucier. Overall I would make it again, just with my simple changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States