Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
The sauce came out fine but it was too bland for my taste. I added about double the spices but it still seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is my staple sauce after two tomato seasons! I saute the carrots longer than usual so they break down more. I love all the veggies in this sauce. I freeze this for excellent sauce all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This is pretty good. It has that "raw" taste that fresh spaghetti sauce has, so you could probably simmer as long as you wanted to get a different flavor. It also wasn't quite as thick as I wanted (I like a THICK sauce) so I added more tomato paste. You could also easily jack up the seasonings in this to get more italian flavor. But those are minor criticisms, really, as this sauce is robust and filling. It's also nice and chunky, which is easily adjusted if you prefer a smoother sauce. It was a nice sauce over cheese tortellini. I had a bunch of fresh tomatoes so I quadrupled the recipe and froze a good portion of it; this will be wonderful for later pasta dishes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was great! Very FRESH and healthy tasting. It definitely tasted "homemade." I put everything in the blender and pureed all of it before adding to the pot. It was somehow still slightly chunky at the end, but in a good way. I used 20 small size tomatoes of different kinds from the garden. It was a bit sweet for my taste, so at the 2 hour point I added about 1 1/2 tsp of salt, about 1/2 tsp of pepper, and a pinch of sugar to cut the acidity. I also added some dried oregano and tyme, and a bit of garlic powder to jazz it up a bit, but thats just my personal taste. It does REALLY need the salt though! It was still a bit sweet, but really good. Its even better the next day, so make it a day ahead if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Made exactly as the recipe called for and LOVED it. The flavor was wonderful and didnt need anything additional added to it. This is a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This sauce was great, but as others have noted, needed a few modifications. I left the seeds in because I wanted to retain as much of the tomato pulp and flavor as possible. At the two hour cooking point I added 1tsp of salt, 1/2tsp black pepper, a bunch of fresh thyme and rosemary, and some tomato bouillon powder to cut through the tartness. I also dropped in a whole dried chili pepper that I took out with the bay leaf when it was all done. The pepper really enhanced the flavor without adding too much heat. I did leave the pot uncovered at the two hour point which really helped to thicken up the sauce and left it nice and chunky, just the way I like it! Just make sure to stir frequently so nothing sticks to the bottom. The celery stalks fell apart toward the end of cooking so I'll chop them up next time because it still tasted great, and probably double the wine because I couldn't detect it at all (I just used some shiraz that I had at home, didn't want to buy burgundy just to use a little of it). With about 15-20 minutes left I added some leftover grilled squash and banana peppers just to warm them up, and served over angle hair pasta. A few sprinkles of parmesan cheese and grilled chicken breast made it an amazing meal! As a bonus, it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Great recipe for my first homemade sauce. I made two small changes. First, I omitted the italian seasoning and replaced it with 1/2 tsp dried oregano, dried thyme and dried parsley. Second, at the two hour mark I pureed it for smoothness and thickness carefully removing and replacing the bay leaf and celery stalks.. The sauce is thick and succulent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was tasty, and I accidentally chopped up and put in the celery instead of the whole stalks -- still good. I used my bounty of fresh tomatoes from my tomato plants, froze in batches and look forward to this fresh tasting tomato sauce with pasta this winter! Also added salt to taste at the first 2-hour mark. Very necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My 19 year old son made this with garden fresh basil,onions, and some tomato but supplemented with paste and 1 can chopped tomato as we did not have enough fresh,instead of burgundy added a cabernet shiraz blend. Did not add bell pepper but minced onion tops. Did not simmer 2 hours only 10 minutes.Sauce was so excellent I had to leave this review. No salt was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVADA753

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
very rich and tasty. I agree with others that the size of your tomato matters. Also it is pretty chunky next time I will puree all tomatoes. I added salt and pepper and finely chopped my carrots I omitted the celery since I didn't have any on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSICO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States