Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Definitely too many vegetables. I used half of all the veggies except tomatoes and carrots. I should have halved the carrots also. The sauce is orange and tastes like carrots. I had to add a 15 ounce can of tomato sauce to cut the carrot taste and salt. Very bland. Not sure if I'd try this particular one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Yes I made. This and it was the best tomato sauce that I made . I would double it to have more saved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was really delicious sauce. I was low on time, so I simmered it for an hour, added homemade meatballs (that had been browned), and let them cook in the simmering sauce for 2 hours. I added about 2 tsp sugar and about 4 tsp. mixed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I loved this because there's no sugar and it tastes great! My husband hates red sauce but he loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Good recipe. Only thing I did different was I used a Victoria strainer to do my tomatoes. I then put all the pulp and juice in a zippered pillow cloth and hang it to drain for several hours. Believe it or not the only thing that drains out is a greenish tinted water. Cuts cooking time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Nice recipe but the fun is adding the extras at the end like pesto, parmesan, fresh chopped basil etc! Beef! Turkey! Sausages. Its always good to refer to a base recipe like this. My husband ate it all week and thinks I took cooking lessons! I'll take it! :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I used the basic recipe used 16 various types of tomatoes, 8 big cloves of garlic fresh herbs plus two fresh Jalapenos,BAM! our family loves a little blast to there sauce! What a Great way to use up the tomatoes when there coming to fast for salads and such... As for the time it takes the rewards of not buying premade sauce is Well worth it! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Salter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Excellent recipe that I have used both with the garden harvest and in the interim with canned crushed tomatoes. I usually use baby carrots and pull them out with the celery and bay leaf. I don't know if it makes any difference but it always comes out great! We usually freeze some for later as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great recipe: Changes I made: I didn't have burgundy wine but Pinot Noir is a perfect substitute. I made this for my lasagna and should have doubled the recipe to make enough sauce for it. If you're using it just for topping other things then the measurements are perfect. Other changes: 1. tripled the tomato paste, blended all the veggies (used green and red pepper) with the tomatoes instead of just chopping them, added a ton more seasoning: red pepper, all spice, basil, celery salt and pepper. It was amazing! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Richey
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made this recipe today...I agree with many that it is a "good base recipe"....as written...it comes out very bland. I used black pepper, thyme, additional basil, and additional Italian Seasoning to make it taste great. One great variable is the type of Tomatoes you may be using.....I am using Southern Tomatoes....Big Boys...and Better Boys...I used no sugar. I also added at least a tablespoon of salt. If you "play with it"....I am sure you can make it work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States