Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I used this recipe as a base, but used turkey beef, 2 pinches of cayenne, about an 1/8 salt and 1/2tsp of crushed red pepper since we enjoy spicier flavors. I don't see me going back to store bought. Thank you for this recipe Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Great taco seasoning! My family loves it with all the optional ingredients, too. We use it to season both taco and burrito fillings. I especially love that there's no MSG (like in the store-bought junk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We wanted more heat and salt. As Texans are used to more cumin as well. Thanks for posting because we enjoyed it with small modifications. Added another 1/2 tsp of chili powder; about 1/4 tsp more cumin; more salt; more cayenne; and 1/3 of the paprika was the smoked paprika. Cooked it the way she suggested but added 2 tbsp tomato paste into it as it simmered low with the water. Worked out very nicely and no MSG. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I love this recipe. I have tried many but these amounts seem to come together the best for my taste. The main one that needed pleasing was the hubby and he loved the taste of his tacos with it. I also sprinkled it all over chicken breast after they had been rubbed with olive oil. I then baked them in a 350 degree oven. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
In addition to the seasonings above, I also add a small can of tomatoes to simmer with the ground meat for a few minutes after the meat has been cooked up and any fat has been drained. Much better tasting than those prepackaged seasoning packets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyce anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Best Recipe I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Skikus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This isn't just a great spice mix -- it's also a great spice rub for beer can chicken or just a whole chicken that you roast in the oven. Coat your chicken with butter or canola oil, then press the spice rub in. You'll probably need to triple or quadruple the spice amounts to cover an entire chicken, but the end result is a chicken that tastes like no other. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billbird2111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This had no flavor. I had to doctor is up a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I made a batch of this and put it in a jar (used the ingrediants X 5) and have used it with chicken and beef. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazmine C. Valencia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe for beef or chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States