Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Made this the first time as written.....I did need to use more than what I would normally use to season our meat. But then we like it really hot! Just made 100 servings (fills a 1 quart jar perfectly) We're from Cali so we have many different chili powders to choose from, so for the chili powder I use 1/2 Pasailla/Ancho and 1/2 California/Anahiem chili powders, instead of cayenne and red pepper I use a good portion or Abrol chili powder which is a bit hotter than cayenne but has more of a "Mexico" flavor. You can pick up all these different chili powders at your local Mexican/Latin market for about $0.89! If you haven't shopped at your local Mexican store do your self a favor and go there!!!! All kinds of spices, produce, and fresh cut to order meats for about 2/3 the price of the big supermarkets! Spices and produce less than 1/2 the cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Better than the bought package!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Try using Ancho Chili Powder and/or Chipotle. Got into a pinch, found I did not have a premix so I tried this. Won't be buying any more of the premix except for travel situations where I dont have my full spice cabinet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Well it does smell really good. However maybe its me. But its a bit bland. I was waiting for an oinion or garlicy flavor but nothing. Even adding extra spiced to it didnt do much. I suggest maybe fresh oinion and minced garlic instead sauted first then added. Btw i used very little salt like a half a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I use this recipe all the time now. I have never been a fan of pre-packaged mixes and so this is a very good substitute. I did not change anything in the recipe and I'm satisfied with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I always buy McCormick's taco seasoning because my husband and one of our son's is a Celiac and this brand is gluten free. They were out at the store in our small town, so I decided to make my own. Your recipe is delicious and I was able make it gluten free!!! My family loved it! This is our seasoning from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
just the right amount of spice for my family's taste... there were no leftovers which makes me a happy mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chops

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
It's better than the package stuff, but, like almost all of the other recipes it's missing the sugar. That's the "missing" ingredient everyone tries to find. The packages have about 4g's of sugar per TBS. That's what balances out the heat and amplifies the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe rocks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lara
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
My family likes everything mild so packaged seasoning is always too spicy. This is perfect with half the chili powder and none of the optional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States