Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is a great, easy to make taco seasoning. I made a bigger batch, filling 2 small mason jars. My wife and I like our tacos a little spicier, so I added a little bit more cayenne pepper and crushed red pepper flakes than it calls for. It was excellent, 2 tbsp. of mix and 3/4 cup water to 1 lb of ground beef. Lots of good spice and flavor, highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Made this for my chicken tacos. It was a hit with the family!! Will use this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made this recipe using the word portion for teaspoon and now I have a supply as I need it. Turned out better than any commercial product. I kept everthing else exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My family really liked the recipe. It is always so much better to make your own. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Needed a ton more cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I used this recipe as a base, but used turkey beef, 2 pinches of cayenne, about an 1/8 salt and 1/2tsp of crushed red pepper since we enjoy spicier flavors. I don't see me going back to store bought. Thank you for this recipe Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Great taco seasoning! My family loves it with all the optional ingredients, too. We use it to season both taco and burrito fillings. I especially love that there's no MSG (like in the store-bought junk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We wanted more heat and salt. As Texans are used to more cumin as well. Thanks for posting because we enjoyed it with small modifications. Added another 1/2 tsp of chili powder; about 1/4 tsp more cumin; more salt; more cayenne; and 1/3 of the paprika was the smoked paprika. Cooked it the way she suggested but added 2 tbsp tomato paste into it as it simmered low with the water. Worked out very nicely and no MSG. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I love this recipe. I have tried many but these amounts seem to come together the best for my taste. The main one that needed pleasing was the hubby and he loved the taste of his tacos with it. I also sprinkled it all over chicken breast after they had been rubbed with olive oil. I then baked them in a 350 degree oven. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
In addition to the seasonings above, I also add a small can of tomatoes to simmer with the ground meat for a few minutes after the meat has been cooked up and any fat has been drained. Much better tasting than those prepackaged seasoning packets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyce anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States