Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made this last night with ground turkey and both my husband and I liked it very much. I used a chipotle chile powder and it gave it a little extra kick, will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I usually add more cumin to the mix and I use Spanish paprika, which has a rich smokey flavor. It's a great addition and it works for the kids, too, as they don't care for things overly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Made this today.Used smoked paprika and no pepper flakes. Used ground turkey for meat and it came out great.Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Perfect! Easy. Healthier than prepackaged seasoning and tastes just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This works. I'm allergic to onions, among several other things, and can't eat in restaurants any more. I missed Mexican food so much! This is tasty and easy and I make it in humongous batches then store it in a jar. Gluten free, too, which the packages versions are not. No down side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Made this the first time as written.....I did need to use more than what I would normally use to season our meat. But then we like it really hot! Just made 100 servings (fills a 1 quart jar perfectly) We're from Cali so we have many different chili powders to choose from, so for the chili powder I use 1/2 Pasailla/Ancho and 1/2 California/Anahiem chili powders, instead of cayenne and red pepper I use a good portion or Abrol chili powder which is a bit hotter than cayenne but has more of a "Mexico" flavor. You can pick up all these different chili powders at your local Mexican/Latin market for about $0.89! If you haven't shopped at your local Mexican store do your self a favor and go there!!!! All kinds of spices, produce, and fresh cut to order meats for about 2/3 the price of the big supermarkets! Spices and produce less than 1/2 the cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Better than the bought package!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Try using Ancho Chili Powder and/or Chipotle. Got into a pinch, found I did not have a premix so I tried this. Won't be buying any more of the premix except for travel situations where I dont have my full spice cabinet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Well it does smell really good. However maybe its me. But its a bit bland. I was waiting for an oinion or garlicy flavor but nothing. Even adding extra spiced to it didnt do much. I suggest maybe fresh oinion and minced garlic instead sauted first then added. Btw i used very little salt like a half a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I use this recipe all the time now. I have never been a fan of pre-packaged mixes and so this is a very good substitute. I did not change anything in the recipe and I'm satisfied with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States