Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made this last night with ground turkey and both my husband and I liked it very much. I used a chipotle chile powder and it gave it a little extra kick, will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I usually add more cumin to the mix and I use Spanish paprika, which has a rich smokey flavor. It's a great addition and it works for the kids, too, as they don't care for things overly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Made this today.Used smoked paprika and no pepper flakes. Used ground turkey for meat and it came out great.Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Perfect! Easy. Healthier than prepackaged seasoning and tastes just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This works. I'm allergic to onions, among several other things, and can't eat in restaurants any more. I missed Mexican food so much! This is tasty and easy and I make it in humongous batches then store it in a jar. Gluten free, too, which the packages versions are not. No down side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Made this the first time as written.....I did need to use more than what I would normally use to season our meat. But then we like it really hot! Just made 100 servings (fills a 1 quart jar perfectly) We're from Cali so we have many different chili powders to choose from, so for the chili powder I use 1/2 Pasailla/Ancho and 1/2 California/Anahiem chili powders, instead of cayenne and red pepper I use a good portion or Abrol chili powder which is a bit hotter than cayenne but has more of a "Mexico" flavor. You can pick up all these different chili powders at your local Mexican/Latin market for about $0.89! If you haven't shopped at your local Mexican store do your self a favor and go there!!!! All kinds of spices, produce, and fresh cut to order meats for about 2/3 the price of the big supermarkets! Spices and produce less than 1/2 the cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Better than the bought package!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Try using Ancho Chili Powder and/or Chipotle. Got into a pinch, found I did not have a premix so I tried this. Won't be buying any more of the premix except for travel situations where I dont have my full spice cabinet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Well it does smell really good. However maybe its me. But its a bit bland. I was waiting for an oinion or garlicy flavor but nothing. Even adding extra spiced to it didnt do much. I suggest maybe fresh oinion and minced garlic instead sauted first then added. Btw i used very little salt like a half a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I use this recipe all the time now. I have never been a fan of pre-packaged mixes and so this is a very good substitute. I did not change anything in the recipe and I'm satisfied with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States