Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
In addition to the seasonings above, I also add a small can of tomatoes to simmer with the ground meat for a few minutes after the meat has been cooked up and any fat has been drained. Much better tasting than those prepackaged seasoning packets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Werthauer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Best Recipe I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Skikus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This isn't just a great spice mix -- it's also a great spice rub for beer can chicken or just a whole chicken that you roast in the oven. Coat your chicken with butter or canola oil, then press the spice rub in. You'll probably need to triple or quadruple the spice amounts to cover an entire chicken, but the end result is a chicken that tastes like no other. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billbird2111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This had no flavor. I had to doctor is up a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I made a batch of this and put it in a jar (used the ingrediants X 5) and have used it with chicken and beef. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazmine C. Valencia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe for beef or chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
. No need to ever buy pre-made taco seasoning when you can make your own from scratch! This was simple and delicious. I doubled this recipe when I made taco soup. Awesome. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Fantastic! I triple, or even quadruple, the recipe because we eat a lot of tacos. Sometimes I add ancho chili powder if I have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Made this for navajo tacos while the grandkids were here. I held back a fourth of the chili powder to keep it mild for the grandkids, and left out the salt (to start with) for my blood pressure. After simmering it in the meat with half the water listed for some time, I sampled the meat, and found it disappointingly bland. So to try to improve it, I added some seasoned salt, which made it a little better. Since it was still quite wet, I simmered it longer to reduce the moisture. Once the water was simmered away, HOLY COW! Night and day difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I really like this. It's a good balance of seasonings and it's fun to know the oregano came from my garden. I mix it all up in my coffee grinder or processor depending on the batch size. I'll never buy the blue bottle again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States