Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I'm a cooking novice, but U can assume any spicy Mexican dish uses chili, while any spicy European dish uses garlic and onion.....so -if you're making spaghetti, use garlic and onion. If tacos, use chili and onion and a little garlic. Doesn't matter fresh or powdered, just the amounts, figure 1 tbsn of onion powder = 1 onion. There are probably more accurate tables online....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this to mix with ground sirloin and tomato paste. It was kind of like a Mexican Sloppy Joe. We used it as taco meat. I had all the ingredients and kept to the proportions for the most part. My daughter loved it, and she is the big taco fan. I saved the rest of the mix to use another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I thought that this was wonderful. I would definitely use again! I substituted smoked paprika and Ancho chili powder for those called for in this recipe with a great result. I also used this mix in my refried beans - also very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Why buy it when its this easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
It was lovely, omitted onion salt coz didn't have any. & switched red pepper flakes for chilli flakes. Ate it with mince baby boiled potatoes & courgette with garlic cloves chopped all on the pan. It was a bit hot for me so added natural fromage frais. I'll use this again. Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Used this in ground beef and I will never use this again. Needed more salt, but that alone can't fix it. Not flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Added a bit of cornstarch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This had just the right Tex-Mex flavour. And it is nice to be able to control the salt, and adjust the heat up or down according who we're serving. My hubby and I like it hot, bot not all our friends do. I'm sure not buying the commercial stuff anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURGUNDY2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Turned out quite nice. Nice to have a batch on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
great seasoning! i added turmeric for a healthy antioxidant boost. i will never buy taco seasoning again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaeveAlleine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States