Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Tasty and smells very nice! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This made great beef taco filling. I used this for a pound of ground beef and used a little more than 3/4 of a cup of chicken broth and let it simmer until the liquid was gone, which was about 15 minutes on med-low. This wasn't spicy, but certainly not bland either and it didn't need anything to make it better. I did use the cayenne and crushed red pepper and used kosher salt instead of sea salt. Great recipe, thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We really enjoyed this seasoning mix. I much prefer it over those pre-made packets. A lot cheaper to make and no scary "filler" ingredients. FYI - this recipe seasoned one pound of meat perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Giving it 4 stars because i haven't cooked with it yet. Just mixed it up and tasted it. Did one sub - used smokey paprika instead of regular - really gave it good flavor! I changed the servings to 50 so i could get a whole jar full to last me a month or two so used 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes since i wasn't sure how much a pinch was and wanted to keep it mild for my younger children. Can't wait to try it. So glad to find a recipe without cornstarch/flour/sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Great taco seasoning....and yes....I do love that I can control the salt. I used regular chili powder and omitted the cayenne and pepper flakes so my kiddos would eat it. Used this mix in a pound of extra lean ground chicken to top nachos. I only ended up using 1/2c of water as well. Delicious and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Great Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Followed the recipe 100%. This was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Mickle Bock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Great taco seasoning for those concerned about their sodium intake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Way better than that infamous packaged mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
awesome recipe, Kathy! Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States