Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Awesome! I went for the 'mild' version as I was feeding kids-- omitted the black pepper, red pepper flakes, and used regular chili powder. I mixed into 1lb of ground beef, added about 1/4c water, mixed together and heated well. It was delicious. I will never buy taco seasoning again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We eat a lot of Mexican dishes. This is a great way to enjoy the savory flavor without the high amount of sodium. I did not alter the recipe at all and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I discovered this recipe after I had my heart attack. (I was looking for something low in sodium.)I have omitted the salt and adjusted the amounts to my own tastes. Okay I don't really measure I just toss in as much as I feel like that night. I do have one suggestion, instead of using water when you make your tacos either use the broth of the meat that you are cooking or beer, I use Dos Equis when I have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darren Diodati

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
It was pretty similar to the packaged type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
AMAZING taco seasoning made using organic seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Just used this recipe tonight, just as it is with both optionals too. Loved it! I figured out that the 4 Tbsp is a little too little for ~2 lbs of meat (which is what I had), but some godly Cholula fixed that at mealtime. Next time I'll make a jar-full and have a better idea of what quantity to use for my meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is a great taco seasoning without all the bad stuff. I like mine with a little more spice so I use hot paprika, it does not make it super spicy just gives it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Great recipe !! I was in a pinch, had everything for taco soup BUT the taco seasoning. This worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Bilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
In a word...LACKS FLAVOR. We all cook from scratch in my house(teens too). So I couldn't compare to the packet from store people referred to. But I love Mexican and eat it a lot(yes! authentic Mexican) I could have misjudged quantity. I used 2T per pound. I ended up adding additional mix, about 1/2T extra per pound. Way TOO MUCH water too! I only used 1/4C and added tomato paste. But the main problem is it LACKS FLAVOR. I will have to really make some awesome condiments to compensate for this. Which I was hoping this recipe would be enough flavor for a quick meal without needing a lot of extras. It's a good start but needs to be worked...not sure I have time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States