Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Just used this recipe tonight, just as it is with both optionals too. Loved it! I figured out that the 4 Tbsp is a little too little for ~2 lbs of meat (which is what I had), but some godly Cholula fixed that at mealtime. Next time I'll make a jar-full and have a better idea of what quantity to use for my meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is a great taco seasoning without all the bad stuff. I like mine with a little more spice so I use hot paprika, it does not make it super spicy just gives it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Great recipe !! I was in a pinch, had everything for taco soup BUT the taco seasoning. This worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Bilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
In a word...LACKS FLAVOR. We all cook from scratch in my house(teens too). So I couldn't compare to the packet from store people referred to. But I love Mexican and eat it a lot(yes! authentic Mexican) I could have misjudged quantity. I used 2T per pound. I ended up adding additional mix, about 1/2T extra per pound. Way TOO MUCH water too! I only used 1/4C and added tomato paste. But the main problem is it LACKS FLAVOR. I will have to really make some awesome condiments to compensate for this. Which I was hoping this recipe would be enough flavor for a quick meal without needing a lot of extras. It's a good start but needs to be worked...not sure I have time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I was skeptical of oregano but this is SPOT ON!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie Baughman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Tried this recipe today. It was easy to throw together and easy to adjust for my family's tast buds. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Turley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
So yummy! I cut the chilli powder in half to please my little kids. To finish the taco meat, I added about a 1/4 cup of tomato paste and 1/2 cup of water to the browned beef and seasoning. I'll never buy the pouches again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is a great substitute, and I can tweak it. I add half a bouillon cube to the mix. And some red wine and a little,Frontera salsa, 'cause I'm lazy/busy. Can't tell you how many times I've made this mix. I always use Mexican oregano, and if I feel really ambitious, I add a tiny bit of Mexican unsweetened chocolate. Killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen McGrath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great mix! Love the fact that you can control the sodium and heat to your liking. Won't buy a package mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I love this recipe! I have everything that's needed in my spice rack and it's so simple and easy! I use it all the time now instead of taco packets from the store. My whole family loves the flavors when I mix it with ground beef for tacos. I also used it to make pork burritos! This mix is now a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States