Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
OK I made this recipe. I did make 2 changes though. I added 1/3 c. powdered skim milk, for some extra consistency, brought it to a mild boil, the lowered the heat to medium low heat and simmered it gently for 20 minutes. I used a magnalite saucepan that was deep enough so the mixture would not boil over. Not sure if that makes a difference. I think the key to thickening this is simmering time, that's why I give this 4 stars. You need to simmer at least 20 minutes, stirring constantly. The longer you simmer, the thicker it will be. End result is very similar in taste and constantly to what you get in a can of sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
hello.we have condensed milk cooker. welcome to visit :http://www.cnehelper.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Thank you work perfect for what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie A Meadors

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I cooked it on low for 20-30 minutes, just how the ingredients are listed, and this recipe is fantastic! In fact, it's better than canned sweetened condensed milk! I can't stop eating it straight from the pan (leftover!)! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is the recipe you need to make great condensed milk, but I agree you have to cook it quite awhile to get it to the proper consistency. Other recipes I've tried just hasn't produced the better results that evaporated milk and sugar will get you. Nice to have a back-up plan if you need a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Yes I have tried this and I agree the cooking times needed an adjustment but it worked just fine. I needed condensed milk for a recipe but I am diabetic and normally can't use store boughten so I made it with Splenda and my cream cheese pie looks great this AM topped it with SF cherry pie filling and can't wait to try for dinner tonight. Can only give it 4 stars since I do not know how it will taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara J Beavers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe saved me on thanksgiving! I had a recipe for a sweet potato casserole with a brown sugar and pecan glaze and the sweet potatoes required a can of sweetened condensed milk, which I forgot to buy. I used this as a replacement and my recipe came out perfect. Best of all, it is EASY. No messing with powdered milk, blenders, or any of that other nonsense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilene Witt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
If you're looking for a homemade sweetened condensed milk recipe that tastes like your average can of Nestle or Carnation, this is it, albeit with some variations. Three stars because this is a fantastic, fool proof base recipe. The key to any good homemade condensed milk is the use of evaporated milk. Evaporated milk is treated differently than whole milk and cream so it's imperative that you stick with it! Anyways, so far I've made several variations of this, and found that 30 min, constantly stirring on medium heat will make this thick, but not fresh from the can consistency. Definitely more syrup-y. What works for me, and has continued to work for me is using 1 cup light brown sugar or 3/4 cup dark brown sugar and 1/4 light brown sugar (I use the higher dark/light ratio for richer desserts) Now before I came across this recipe, I used a recipe found on this cooking blog with similar ingredient ratios but a different cooking process. I tried their cooking method vs. this recipes and found the former created a thicker, richer condensed milk. The key to getting your evaporated milk/sugar mixture rich and creamy is to constantly stir over medium heat until steam rises from your pot of choice (about 10 minutes). Continue to stir and reduce burner to it's lowest setting. Periodically stir milk/sugar mixture for about 1 hr until it's reduced to about half it's original amount. Pour into a clean glass/plastic container and allow to cool before refrigerating. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saieda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Worked perfectly. Brought it to a foaming boil shut it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Queen B. Is right! Boiling it longer will give it a great consistency. And it's just like the real stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

How to Make Homemade Crème Fraiche

See how to make homemade crème fraiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States