Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I didn't like the flavor, but since it was for my husband, his only complaints were that it had way too much salt and wanted me to add some whole fennel seeds in addition to the ground. I won't use this recipe again, but it may be perfect for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
My family loves this sausage. I usually use low fat ground turkey or chicken and it always turns out great! Awesome in Italian soups and/or pasta dishes and even in breakfast dishes. I love that I can control the amount of fat going into my family's food and can eliminate all of those nasty additives you get with store-bought sausage. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I didn't have parsley or fennel seeds, so didn't add those. And left out brown sugar as I'm primal (no grains, no sugar). I think this is great. I'll use it in my chili recipe, but just made a patti with eggs and haloumi cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I didn't care for this recipe. The basil is overpowering. I would however, increase the brown sugar, thyme and oregano. I used the auto adjust button to reduce the recipe to 4 serving sizes to accommodate the 1 lb of pork I had to use, and those ingredients translated down to just a pinch each, not enough to make a difference in the recipe, whether for the original serving size or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
this was a great sausage but i added 1/4 cub chicken broth and i also used 3 garlic cloves minced and took the fennel out i don t like the taste of fennel and they are the best i have tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this about 3 months ago. I made exactly like recipe, except I did not add any salt. It is delicious. Using it to make Italian sausage soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summit, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
The recipe is fantastic and versitile. Having made it several times, I find it easier to make individual patties and loosly wrap them in wax paper. I then make bags of three or four patties and freeze them that way. For me at least, this is much cleaner and less hassle than the author's frozen log of sausage. I can pry them apart with a bread knife and braai them straight from frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
love the spices, tastes like my hometown italian sausage. I cooked up the whole batch, divided it and froze for pizza, pasta etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
The seasoning is perfect but for us, the texture of the meat wasn't working for husband. He mentioned meatloaf. I thought it tasted wonderful! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
A diffinite keeper. Made just as stated & won't change anything the next time as spices are just right for us. The worse part is grinding your own pork up if you choose to do that instead of buying ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States