Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Amazing! So easy and very good! We just bought our first 1/2 pig, so I used some of our ground pork in this recipe. Made pizza with it tonight, huge hit! (also had a great time measuring all the spices with my little one :) ) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
YUMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Thank you for an easy to put together and tasty sausage recipe! I used 2 lbs ground pork and 1 lb ground turkey and other than that, stuck to the recipe very closely. Next time, I will make it spicier by adding some cayenne pepper and more crushed red pepper flakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
After searching through dozens of sausage recipes, I chose this one because it just sounded "right" and there aren't any weird ingredients in here. My husband says it's the best he's ever had- way better than the good stuff we get from the local sausage maker. My daughter actually said "it tastes like sausage that floated down from heaven". She really loved it. I left out the fennel because I didn't have any. We didn't miss it. I think your spice mixture for this is really good. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Absolutely the BEST Italian sausage I've ever had. I'm spoiled now and won't buy it at the store anymore. I looked up this recipe because we bought a half a pork and had a bunch of ground pork. We went through the sausage quickly, and now I look for pork steaks and roasts on sale, grind it up with my Kitchenaide and make the sausage. This is SOOOO easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdinsun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delizioso!! I love this recipe. I love it because I make it and there is no guessing what is in it or artificial ingredients. The flavor is authentic and can be tweeked to preference. I make 1/3 of the recipe and reduce everything by 1/3 with the exception of the fennel, brown sugar, oregano and thyme which I use the full amount. This really is a great recipe and I'm very happy to have it. For the best flavor let it ripen 24 hours before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
4 stars because too salty. I calculated to 8 servings as I only had 2 lbs of ground pork. I didn't have red wine vinegar so I used a white balsamic. Because that has a sweetness to it I didn't add the little bit of brn sugar. I scaled the crushed red pepper back a bit and used a full tsp of oregano and thyme. I mixed all this and then froze it to use for lasagna another time. Today, after I cooked it up and tasted it; I was bummed that it was so salty (and I like salty food). I'll make it again but add only 1/2 salt called for. Then this will be 5 stars I'm sure. I'm hoping all the other ingredients in my lasagna mellow it out ...guess I'll find out soon as I'm cooking it for dinner tonight. Update: I added sausage to 1/2 of my lasagna and did notice how salty that side tasted. But...the next day, after re-heating...it was fine (strange). Anyway, I'll still go w/half the salt next time. If it could use more after cooking, I can add it; sure can't take it out though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was really good! I did it a little different from the recipe. I forgot the pepper, used Italian seasoning for the basil, oregano and thyme because that's all I had in the pantry. I also didn't use ground fennel, but fennel seed. I used one tablespoon of brown sugar. Really good! We raise pigs, and when they're sent to freezer camp, I'm going to get the meat back so I can make our own sausage, and not pay someone else for preservative filled sausage. Absolutely going to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was a good base recipe. It was not sweet so next time I will add mush more sugar. I made 7 pounds and got 22 good links and about an extra loose lb. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States