Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
OMG! this is my go to recipe for the meat in my lasagna. I mix a pound of ground pork and a pound of ground beef and use the ingredients called for in the 3 pounds ground pork recipe. Let these marry in a gallon ziploc bag overnight. But i do add some dried minced onion also. I omit the red pepper and add extra fennel. Yum yum yum! I have never thougjt of making sausage and this recipe has turned me ito the cook i have all ways dreamt of being! Thank you from the tip of my toung to the bottom of my stomach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was my first time making sausage. It was really delicious. The recipe has a tiny bit too much salt and pepper for my taste. That's easy to adjust. Everything else was perfect for me. This will definitely be my "base" recipe in the future. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I loved this recipe! I lightly fried cut-up poblano peppers and sliced onions and then added them to the sausage and it was a very delicious entrée! No leftovers at all. Fabulous recipe! I heard about adding fresh fennel to the sausage like the Italians do and might try that next time. You can't go wrong with this recipe. I did add some fresh chopped garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I was so disappointed in this sausage. With all the wonderful herbs and seasonings in it, all I could taste was salted pork. There was none of the licorice flavor from the fennel--none of the flavor of herbs like the basil were present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I am in search of a Sweet Italian Sausage recipe. This recipe was made as stated. I made a pizza with a third of the recipe which was good but not sweet enough for my taste. The other two logs were frozen. After thawing the frozen logs and adding to the next pizza the salt took over and that is what the pizza taste like: salt. Caution: do not freeze using the recommended Tbsp. of salt. Cut way back on the salt and add more fennel. Another option is to grind the fennel in a coffee grinder before adding to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I didn't like the flavor, but since it was for my husband, his only complaints were that it had way too much salt and wanted me to add some whole fennel seeds in addition to the ground. I won't use this recipe again, but it may be perfect for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
My family loves this sausage. I usually use low fat ground turkey or chicken and it always turns out great! Awesome in Italian soups and/or pasta dishes and even in breakfast dishes. I love that I can control the amount of fat going into my family's food and can eliminate all of those nasty additives you get with store-bought sausage. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I didn't have parsley or fennel seeds, so didn't add those. And left out brown sugar as I'm primal (no grains, no sugar). I think this is great. I'll use it in my chili recipe, but just made a patti with eggs and haloumi cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I didn't care for this recipe. The basil is overpowering. I would however, increase the brown sugar, thyme and oregano. I used the auto adjust button to reduce the recipe to 4 serving sizes to accommodate the 1 lb of pork I had to use, and those ingredients translated down to just a pinch each, not enough to make a difference in the recipe, whether for the original serving size or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
this was a great sausage but i added 1/4 cub chicken broth and i also used 3 garlic cloves minced and took the fennel out i don t like the taste of fennel and they are the best i have tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States