Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Tweaked it just a bit for our tastes and as others suggested. I used 5 lbs of fresh pork sausage. I decreased the salt to 1/2 tsp and nearly doubled all the other seasonings except fennel because I didn't have any. Also added two cloves minced garlic and increased the brown sugar to 3 Tbl (we like it sweet). The salt was almost too much but I can't guarantee the butcher didn't add salt... All in all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
My dad has kidney disease so it was great to find a recipe for sausage with just the basics - tastes just like the store but you can adjust the salt (and leave out the fennel if you want!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe; I substituted ground turkey for the pork, because I don't eat pork. Making my own turkey Italian sausage is so much cheaper than buying it from the market, and it also taste better. I like using it in my spaghetti sauce, my adult children just love it. I will be using it in sausage patties for Christmas morning breakfast. If you do not like the sugar in the sausage, just leave it out. I also sometimes use fresh garlic, basil and parsley. I use 4-5 garlic cloves, 2 tablespoon basil and 1/4 cup of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Best recipe I've made so far for Italian sausage! Everyone loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I used 4x the oregano & switched the brown sugar for cinnamon since my hubby is pre-diabetic. Very good overall. I threw in the extra oregano to compensate for using jarred tomato sauce (gasp!), used it in a deep dish pizza w. red,green,& yellow peppers & onions... comfort food bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I adjusted the salt as recommended in other reviews. I used about 1/2-3/4 teaspoon and 1/4t pepper. A lot less, but we are on a sodium restricted diet. I also decreased the garlic to about 2t due to our tastes. I increased the oregano to at least 1t. Omitted the red pepper for sweet sausage. Left other seasonings as written. Added Parmesan cheese. I fried a tiny patty to check seasoning and my husband loved it. This is a great starting recipes. I significantly decreased the salt to keep within out diets. The seasonings are so good, we really didn't miss the salt. Thank you michellegambel for this great jumping off recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
OMG! this is my go to recipe for the meat in my lasagna. I mix a pound of ground pork and a pound of ground beef and use the ingredients called for in the 3 pounds ground pork recipe. Let these marry in a gallon ziploc bag overnight. But i do add some dried minced onion also. I omit the red pepper and add extra fennel. Yum yum yum! I have never thougjt of making sausage and this recipe has turned me ito the cook i have all ways dreamt of being! Thank you from the tip of my toung to the bottom of my stomach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was my first time making sausage. It was really delicious. The recipe has a tiny bit too much salt and pepper for my taste. That's easy to adjust. Everything else was perfect for me. This will definitely be my "base" recipe in the future. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I loved this recipe! I lightly fried cut-up poblano peppers and sliced onions and then added them to the sausage and it was a very delicious entrée! No leftovers at all. Fabulous recipe! I heard about adding fresh fennel to the sausage like the Italians do and might try that next time. You can't go wrong with this recipe. I did add some fresh chopped garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I was so disappointed in this sausage. With all the wonderful herbs and seasonings in it, all I could taste was salted pork. There was none of the licorice flavor from the fennel--none of the flavor of herbs like the basil were present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States