Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mark Lessard
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I made 15lbs of Sweet Italian Sausage today. Made them into full size links. Real hog casings and all. I am truly impressed with the flavor and texture. Just the right amount of spices. No one spice stands out, each one compliments the other. The blend is just right. They are amazing. I am having spaghetti and sausage for dinner as I type. I can't remember having such a flavorful Sweet Italian Sausage in 30 years. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I am loving every single bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Lessard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very good! Would use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I didn't pay attention to the amounts in the recipe, I just made sure to use each ingredient listed to my liking. I didn't have fennel seed so used anise seed instead. I ground some pork belly in my food processor and flavored it with the seasonings above, let it sit in the fridge at least 24 hours and cooked up the next day to go on top of homemade meat pizza. I added more brown sugar for a caramelized effect when cooking on the stove. I like sweet italian sausage for pizza. I was eating this stuff by the spoonfuls! So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
wow this was super tasty.. i cut the recipe in half and used it on 20 oz of ground turkey.. i reduced the salt by a third and the rest of the ingredients by just a smidgen/pinch/etc to account for the ingredients being for a total of 24 oz of sausage.. i left out the brown sugar as we don't care much for sweet.. it had a good amount of spice/heat which we both love.. this will be my go to recipe for spicy italian sausage from now on.. ty for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Weins
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I love this recipe! I've made it several times, with very consistent results. The spice mix is well balanced and has a great flavor. Your choice of pork is what makes or breaks the deal! Personally, I only use pork butt and strive for 38-40% fat. It sounds high, but it's what makes sausage moist. I consider this a 'small batch' recipe. Depending on how you stuff them, 12-16 can be expected. This is a great recipe for someone making sausage for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Weins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. You can add as much fennel seed as you like, actually as much or as little of any of the spices. What makes this so great is you know what is in your sausage. I shared this with my mother, she says she is so happy, finally she has the Italian sausage that she hasn't been able to find in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Excellent sausage recipe. Changes I made: cut back on salt by a third (glad I did). Added a couple teaspoons of Montreal Steak seasoning, and used 1/2 ground pork, 1/4 coursely ground pork and 1/4 course ground beef. All else I did the same. Love it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I used a mix of lamb and beef. After letting it rest overnight, I cooked a small piece and added more seasoning and included rosemary and sage. It was a bit dry so I added several tablespoons of beef bacon fat. The next morning tasted it again and it was very good. I used it to stuff peppadew peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I had some ground pork that I wanted to use to turn into italian sausage. So I used this recipe so I would know what spices to use. This turned out really good. Love it, will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I used most of the ingredients in this recipe with some ground DEER meat... The only ingredients I omitted were the red wine vinegar and dried basil.. I fried some bite-sized cut up potatoes and chopped onions in a bit of oil, mixed it all together.. and voila! The results were excellent, and the whole family approved!! Delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States