Homemade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
People are correct as to the water volume,thats a ridiculous amount. I used Tomatoes from our garden and about 4 cups of H2O with 3 cans of Tom. paste. It came out perfect. I added some other goodies from the garden as well. It was straight up Vege Sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
A most definite keeper. Took my time with this one but added 1 tblsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 2 bay leaves. Absolutely fantastic! Had even frozen half of it and seemed to taste even better afterwards. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I made this recipe using REGULAR peeled ground tomatoes. I added MORE garlic. I also let it simmer for 7 hours. It came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
I used a large can of crushed and a large can of diced tomatoes and reduced the recipe by 1 cup of water. This was a great sauce with body and full flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I had to cook for about 6 hours to get it to not be so watery, and the taste was worst then the cheapest canned store bought sauce in my opinion. Even with doctoring it up, it was bland yet spicy at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Very tasty and very simple to prepare. I simmered it all day and it made the house smell wonderful. It made a very large pot of sauce, much more than 6 servings as the recipe states. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This recipe needed some tweaking in my opinion. First, the onion to seasoning ratio is alright but the garlic and sugar is off and there isn't enough sugar. I followed this recipe and as most people found, it is hard to find tomatoes in a paste form already. I changed it as follows: 1. lg can of crushed Contadina Tomatoes 1. Lg can of diced Contadina Tomatoes 2. 12 oz cans of Contadina tom. Paste 1. 6 oz can of Contadina paste w/garlic (makes up for the lack of enough garlic in the orig recipe) 2. 1/4-1/3 cup of sugar.. I added to taste. I like my sauce sweeter 1. 1 tsp of salt For the red wine, I suggest a sweet red. I used one called Campagna Di Romani but any sweet wine will do. The wine gave it some sweet to counteract the acid from the tomato. After the changes, the sauce seems much better and has a lot more flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Yum! I still have 2 hours of cooking time left and this is by far the best recipe for spaghetti sauce ever! I used tomatoes from my garden and it is my first time cooking with fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Now I can make batches of this until my tomatoes are gone and freeze it for later!! Thanks Cathy! My house smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was surprisingly underwhelming! It wasn't BAD, but it wasn't great. I have a hard time getting excited about "OK" recipes. I probably won't make this again unless I make some serious changes. I'm looking for out-of-this world flavor and this recipe didn't even come close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I thought that 7 C. of water seemed a bit much. I think it must be a typo! I used only 2 c. of water, and upped the amount of red wine to 1c. also added salt. It might be that it's hard to find crushed tomatoes in PASTE and everyone is using crushed tomatoes in JUICE, the way that you find it in the stores. But I also added Parmesan cheese and meat. Came out okay. Just your basic tomato sauce. I'll keep looking- the one i'm looking for is thick and rich, not too chunky with a rich wine flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kukadog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States